Speaker building projectsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #howto8 years ago

Worklog of building speakers.


Finished speaker in my living room

This project is based on Audiovideo.fi instructions Yksisilmäiset veljekset http://audiovideo.fi/opas/kaiutinrakennusohje-yksisilmaiset-veljekset-hifi-pa-kaiuttimet-eminence-beta-8cx-beta-10cx-ja

Translation of the name into english would be something like Cyclop brothers. These are coaxial speakers so the tweeter is placed in the center of the bass driver.

Let's start!

I found a promising speaker design on Audiovideo.fi website and decided to order the components required. The design consists of 12" Eminence CX driver and a horn tweeter placed in the center of the bass driver. All the sound comes from a single point. The original design has different shape for the enclosure. I wanted to make a floor stander so I changed the height and depth but maintained the inner volume. Inner volume needs to be as originally designed as the design uses bass reflex tuned box.

Illustration I made of the new box dimensions in 3dsmax.


Precut 18mm plywood sheets and my tools on my balcony.


Using router to flush mount reflex ports and drivers, a few finished parts on the backround.


Nice 100mm reflex ports. Each speaker has two so the tuning frequency can be adjusted by blocking one or two ports with socks etc.


Only front wall missing, notice the inner bracing


36mm front wall with routed flush mount


Soldering the crossover

Finished speakers

Afterthoughts

Project was successful. Cost remained a bit below 700€ for a pair. The Cyclops are easy to listen. They have enough bass extension to work even with movies without a subwoofer. (atleast for my taste)


A simple frequenct response measurement
I measured the in room response using Antimode 2.0 and Room Eq Wizard. I believe I made some mistake in the REW for the vertical units. I would say the graph should have -6db where it now has -10db. Anyways the low end seems to reach 30hz and this is easily verified by my hearing :D

A few links:
http://audiovideo.fi/opas/kaiutinrakennusohje-yksisilmaiset-veljekset-hifi-pa-kaiuttimet-eminence-beta-8cx-beta-10cx-ja

http://www.roomeqwizard.com/

http://www.dspeaker.com/en/products/20-dual-core.shtml

Some images previously released on https://www.flickr.com/photos/drakmin/ and some speaker building forums.

Sort:  

Great looking speakers!
Was kind of curious, did you happen to look into designing a Tapped Horn style box with the Eminence CX?
I'd imagine throwing some specs of the 12" Eminence CX into the HornResp calc you could fine tune and increase the DB output, making a flatter line response. Of course the adjustment would probably only reflect the woofer specs of the driver and not the tweeter, i.e. 30-5k Hz range?
Still an impressive project none-the-less!!!

Thanks! Nope, I've been in an understanding that any horn enclosure tends to be even bigger and I'm already running pretty maximum I can place in my room. Maybe in the future!

That's a damn good job there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73