Home Alone - How to Minimize Your Life This Spring For A Better You!

in #howto6 years ago (edited)

Solitude. Sheer Solitude. I'm home alone this week for the first time in nearly 14 years and I am loving it! This solitude certainly doesn't happen often. But, my oldest daughter @prettydecent has officially moved to NYC and my youngest daughter is off on a mission trip with our church youth group. So, here I am - officially off of work from teaching for a week of spring break and also off of parenting, for the first time in over a decade. Double score.

It has been a very relaxing week. Being a single mom affords me the luxury of having my home completely to myself when the kids are away. This week, I've slept in some and taken a few naps. I've also taken some leisurely strolls with the dog. I even ordered take out for dinner. No dishes, just styrofoam. Ooh lala. Oh, and I have consumed lots of Netflix. Perhaps too much, I admit.

One show I watched the first night is called 'Minimalism'. If you haven't checked it out, you should.

I really enjoyed the program, especially the concept of limiting myself to less. In a sense, I have already started to cut back my belongings. A few years back, I scrap-booked a whole bunch to consolidate the huge boxes of memories I had collected from the children sporting, drama, school, church, you name it, I saved it event. The organizing of the memories definitely started me down my own personal journey towards minimalism. Watching this documentary gave me just the validation I needed to get busy during this spring break of solitude.

And, so I've done a ton of cleaning this week. Since I divorced last summer, there were a few closets that needed serious attention. I washed my ex out to the tune of eleven hefty garbage bags. It was time. I also minimized my daughter's closet. She had sorted through her donations before she left, so I boxed them up with some of my clothes and dropped it all off at Goodwill up the street. The process only took an hour or so, but boy the benefit was immense. Our little apartment isn't generous on storage so any cutting back is a huge difference. I never realized just how much junk we accumulate in life.

I do have many items that I hold dear and would never consider minimizing. I think we all do. That's kind of the point. By going through everything, and identifying what is important to keep and what we can let go, we become aware of not just our trash - but also our treasure.

Treasure your treasures. Minimize the rest. That's my motto this spring break of solitude.

Here are a few How To ideas to minimize your life:

  1. If you haven't worn it in a year, donate it.
  2. Pick a junk drawer, empty it and organize each item into a new location or trash it.
  3. Empty your closet entirely and use plastic bins from the dollar store to reorganize.
  4. Take lots of breaks.
  5. Make lists and reward yourself for each completed task.
  6. Do some research on minimalism. I found lots of ideas.

Good luck!! I hope everyone enjoys their spring cleaning as much as I do! It is certainly getting me through my week of solitude and helping me to feel more focused and organized. Give it a try!

Many blessings!

my.png

Sort:  

I am so happy for you, girl :))))
I also have two kids, two boys ( 5 and 1/7) I totally understand what you mean with that post. ;)
Have a great time and kisses from me. :*

Thank you!! You have youngins! They are blessings, for sure! Here's to you getting a little solitude of your own ;) Following you back!

Thank you so much. :) :* It's always nice to feel positive energy ;)

Those are great ideas. Me and my wife were just saying how we need to donate our old clothes that we can no longer fit or don't want

See.............. rsz_20180321_164751_small.jpg

Yes! I had more clothes in my closet to donate than I kept. Crazy how much we hold on to! Good luck! #OneClosetAtATime

Love the tag, one closet at a time, agreed.

My sisters were in NYC and I attended Word Of Life Bible Institute for 2 years in New York, 04-06, and I'm from Oregon and was on a mission trip in Idaho, Quebec, Hawaii, Vietnam.

@ Gator Lynne, thanks for posting. Agree, life is better when focused, AKA minimized for efficiency, maximization, as life is short, and time is money and money is time with places to go, people to see, things to do, and time is a gift, that is why today, each moment is a present, as we live in the present, as it is a present, said that turtle man in Kung Fu Panda, haha, which reminds me of Splinter, master of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Naps are great. The push totally reorganize is key. I rewarded myself many times with ice-cream. Was born in 1985, which makes me 33 now, and taught English in Vietnam for 5 years, 2012-2017, and have learned a lot.

I learn to appreciate moments more, to take breaks more. Have been a workaholic perfectionist so often, and I teach myself to relax sometimes. My parents divorced in 2008 but all things can work together for good and things do get better no matter what.

Your positive attitude is contagious! Thank you! Many blessings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65