🐥 How to Increase Your Vertical 🐤

in #howto7 years ago

Are you an athlete?! Have you ever wanted to jump higher?! In this post, I will share my knowledge and experience on how to train to increase your vertical and become a better athlete!

Hello my fellow Steemians! Yes, that is me in the video above. A lot of people have asked me how I jump so high so I thought about making a post explaining on how I got my vertical. A lot of people has misconceptions on how to raise their vertical which ultimately ends up slowing their progress towards their goals. In this post, I will share with you 3 ways I believe is the best way to not only raise your vertical, but improve your overall physical abilities and making you a better athlete!

Number 1 - Jump

This may seem super obvious, but you'd be surprise by how many people do not do this! Yes, if you want to jump higher, you have to JUMP! As a kid, I loved to jump and reach anything I thought was out of reach. This forced me to jump my highest every time and this is actually the key to improving your vertical, fast.

Tip: Do NOT train tired! If you think jumping 50 times in a row is going to make you jump higher, you're sadly mistaken. After maybe the 10th jump, you will jumping LOWER than your max every time. This means you are training to jump lower than your max! When you train, STOP when you feel like you are too tired to jump your highest. Then, start again when you are recovered. This is very important, I can't stress it enough.

Number 2 - Increase Your SPEED and AGILITY

So many people think that squats and leg curls are going to help them jump higher. They are not wrong, it does help, but what they don't know is that SPEED and AGILITY plays a big part in your vertical. In order to jump high, you have to convert your horizontal power (when you do your approach) to vertical power (when you actually jump). This means that the faster you can move your feet, the more explosive you can be and the more power you can convert to your vertical.

Tip 1: Do a lot of sprints. Remember to NOT train tired. You want to be at your fastest every single sprint you do.

Tip 2: Do agility drills to make you feet quicker. Again, Do NOT train tired.

Number 3 - Increase Your Explosiveness

This is a big one. Having a high vertical is all about how explosive you can be when jumping. Using your speed, agility, and strength all together to EXPLODE when jumping will definitely allow you to jump higher. There are 3 points of explosion you need to focus on when you are jumping. If you look at the gif above where a powerclean is being demonstrated, you can see that she starts your explosion at the ankles, then knees, then hips to allow her to pull up the weight. The same thing applies when jumping!

Tip: Do exercises like focuses on explosiveness such as powercleans and hangcleans. If you're really badass, do tire flips 💪😂!

Thank you for reading 😁

Remember to be SAFE when training! The higher you jump, the more dangerous it is because of the stress and impact it causes on your joints. Be sure to learn how to land correctly or else you risk immediate or chronic injuries. As always, thank you for reading! If this post helped you in any way, please UPVOTE and FOLLOW to support me in my Steemit journey 😁!

Sources: 1 2 3

YOU ARE SIMPLY THE.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67621.06
ETH 3787.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50