Do You Need Help Getting started? Read This!

in #howto6 years ago

gossip aproko.jpg

This is officially my second post here and prior to sending my first I had a couple of blocks moving forward but in no time I was, however, able to figure it out by using the search box . The steemit search box is aligned with Google, thus making it easy to find anything steemit you want to know.

I was able to navigate through the platform easily, set up my profile, understand terminologies used, all by using the search box more.

I understand that it might be a little difficult getting used to platforms like this as a newbie even when it is not so difficult. In this post, I will be sharing the hurdle I was able to pass just so I get started.

Registration.


If you are reading this then you must have gone through this process already. The registration process on the steemit website is not like regular websites where you sign up and expect an email requesting for you to confirm email and you are in.

I joined by registering my email, and then I confirmed I am not a robot, then I a confirmation email. On confirming the email account I got a request to add my phone number. Registering your correct phone number will allow them to verify you are real and then I received a message asking me to wait for my approval after reviewing my registration.

Depending on the country it may take seven days to get approved or even longer but regardless it is advised to be patient and if for some reason it doesn't work, repeat the registration process and reach out to the steemit community. Mine was about six (6) days, where I got a link confirming my approval plus getting an auto-generated password.

This is where the most important steemit rule comes in, "do not lose your password". You may not be able to get it back even with the support system it might be a huge hassle so the best advice is not to lose your password. DO NOT LOSE YOUR PASSWORD!!!

Choosing my account name I noticed it is not like other social media platforms where you can keep changing username. It is important you choose wisely. I got a welcome guide on how to get started after login with my username and automated password.

Setup Your Profile.


Setting up my profile was a bit unusual because I could not find a direct setup profile icon but after much navigation, I saw the settings just at the drop-down menu to the right. Steemit is not like other platforms where you can easily upload a picture on a drop menu instead you create a URL link to your picture then you paste on it.

How to get started with steemit.png

There are several sites that can help you in creating a link to an image but the one I used was tinypic... All I did was copy my pictures on the menu and then a list of links was generated but the one suitable for steemit was the direct link. I used this for both the profile picture url and the cover image url

how to get started with steemit2.png

Add the URL to your website if you have one or any other call to action relating to what you do. This is important when setting up your profile.

Create an Introductory Post.


After setting up your account profile the next thing that should be on your mind is to start posting, however, do not be so much in a hurry that you do not introduce yourself. Introducing yourself not only brings you out to readers but also creates a connection and a sense of intimacy with them.

Start by clicking POST on the top right of the screen and get started with your very first post. In the post, you should write about what you do and what you intend to talk about on the platform. Add pictures of yourself showing you are real and also leave links to your website or your business.

See what I did here: https://steemit.com/introduce/@iamjimmy/i-am-jimmy-and-this-is-my-steemit-introduction-may-i-know-you

Always remember to add tags relating to your post. You have up to five tags to add at the end of each post. This will increase visibilty of your post.

Share the URL of your post so you stand more chance of getting noticed.


Getting started with steemit is as simple as the three steps mentioned above. It might be a little bit of a challenge but nothing when you get the hang of it. I am on my second post but excited to write even more.

Look out for my next post where I write about the dos and dont of steemit but for now kindly, upvote, resteem and follow. Leave a comment on anything you might have a challenge with as you get started.

Thanks.

Author: Jimmy

Sort:  

Great information man. Ohhh! I honestly appreciate you for this.

You are welcome kdkwrites.

Thanks ..big help for the new people like me in steemit.. 🙂

You are welcome. I am glad you find it helpful.

Its good info for the newbie like me :)

Thank you for reading.

Thank you, Jimmy.

This is a lot of help.

Thanks for reading Aijay.

Fantastic. Even a nine year old can get started on steemit with the guide in this piece. Blessings

Thanks nnennaewa. Glad you like it.

Yes, you are a writer!
And hey, you are a tutorialist!

Wait...

is there anything like "Tutorialist?"

If there's nothing like that, well, i guess it should be included in the next edition of whatever dictionary that already exist.

So speaking of, I think your tutorial is really dope and a very easy one at that. But only God knows how much efforts you'd have put into knowing what you now share with us.

You know, I don't men to disrespect, but this is what distinguish the genius from the normal guys. i shake my head when i saw people asking questions they could easily have found out by themselves.

but then again, I think it's good, because there are some people who should really pay us for what we know that they don't know. I mean if they should know, how do we advance our ministry?

Hahahahaha!

Sam

Hehehe Funny you!

I wouldn't think of it as an effort or at least nothing that took my time. We are all learning regardless of how long you have been doing it. I believe in finding out first by taking advantage of google, youtube or better still the simple search box on steemit. This is the way to learn.

If all options are exhausted then I can look to other steemians for their knowledge. Finding out the information myself gives me an edge in the question I want to ask, meaning I can ask the questions intelligently and not like a novice.

This is nothing against anybody though, we are all learning.

Thanks Sam!

Jimmy.

Well loaded @iamjimmy.

Anyone would surely find her way with your detailed guidance. Thanks for this.

Thanks for the info! I'm still trying to figure out how to share my post, or somehow get some notice in steemit and d.tube.
Where can I share a post? Thanks, community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58