How to Motivate Yourself to Get Past Your Writer's Block

in #howto5 years ago (edited)

We've all been there.Whether it's been writing a school paper, blog post, short story, novel, we've all experienced the "what now?" I've just completed this amazing portion of writing. It's complete, done. Or I haven't tapped a key on the keyboard yet.

  1. Now the unknown looms ahead of me.
  2. I might have an idea where I'm heading but the meaty content is evasive.

Even though you believe in your thesis or the story or poem you're crafting and are excited in seeing what you've envisioned come to words on a page, you get writer's block. It has nothing to do with a lack of passion for or understanding of your subject.

Here are some ways I've conquered writer's block.

Remember the big picture

I'll hype myself and renew the passion of my project (usually a novel) by replaying in my mind or thinking of certain scenes that was exciting to write or that I haven't written yet but soon will. My endings are usually solid before I start my novels. So in order for me to reach the satisfaction of the conclusion, I must push until I reach my goal.

Motivation: You're reminding yourself why you're in love with or the reason you have for this project.

Take a leap of faith

Most of us are uncomfortable with the unknown. We like to have a plan that we try to follow to the best of our abilities and determination. But what happens when there's no plan? You can't connect from A to B. There's been many a time when I wasn't sure how my protagonist was going to get from one scene to the next.

I had to force myself to start tapping keys and allow the story to flow (even though the writing felt stunted). You can always return to the wobbly portion and make it stronger.

Motivation: Think of it as investing in yourself to make yourself more teachable and malleable to what life may throw your way.

Change your environment

Whether it's changing positions of writing (sitting, lying down), the environment in which you write (outside, coffee shop), or even swapping out writing for an activity that engages your brain another way (exercising, reading a book, puzzles)—doing any of these can give you a fresh pep, insight, or inspiration for your work.

Motivation: You can try something new and expand your horizons.

Remind yourself of who you are

Many times writing is a journey, not just a journey into our characters' lives or a journey into our beliefs but also a journey into who we are. Many times, self-doubt, critical self-assessment, or negative thoughts and reactions from others can impact our effectiveness to complete what we started.

Take some time to free write. Here are some examples of things you can explore about yourself.

  • my favourite vacation and why
  • who did I look up to when I was child
  • times I've been hurt and have learned to forgive
  • places I felt safe
  • strong sensations I've experienced such as smells, taste, sound and the context around them

Motivation: There is a plethora of information wealth inside you. Embrace you.

Removing distractions

Just how texting while you're driving can be fatal, so can engaging in this same action or similar actions be fatal to your focus and can facilitate the writer's block you're experiencing.

Maybe your phone pings every time you get a Facebook, Twitter, email, Instagram, etc. notification. Maybe you've left your browser window open with your favourite game or show. Having all these available distractions around you can suck your focus from the main mission at hand.

Turn off the notifications or put your phone in a different room with the vibrate on. Fully close all other windows on your computer. Then hone your mind and get to work.

Motivation: You are training yourself to focus and be more effective.

I hope pinpointing some of these problem areas and addressing their solutions has been helpful. Is there some solution you use that I didn't write about? Please share in the comments below.

Sort:  

My best advice:

Temet Nosce

Explore about yourself.

Write every time you feel that you have something in your chest.

It also helps me a lot to have a notebook with extracts of the best texts I have read with own annotations of feelings about them.

Thanks for sharing what works for you, @hijosdelhombre. Journaling is a great way to understand yourself better and to process the your feelings, especially if you're the type of person to ignore or bottle up your feelings.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59