How to Make a Candle Stand Up

in #howto6 years ago

candle-1285146_1920.jpg
img

When I was much younger I used to wonder what type of magic people used to make a candle stand up on a plain ground or on a tin. I had tried several times and it would not stand up. I often looked at a candle standing up on a tin and burning, with amazement. I had not seen anyone lighting the candle and placing it on any flat surface. It was the ready-made thing I always saw.

As I grew older, I discorvered that there was no trick or magic that was being used. It is a simple process. This was after watching my mother do it.


child-316510_1280.jpg

img


It was on a night when I had to do my school assignment. Unfortunately, there was a power outage and if I didn't do the assignment I would be done for. My mother who always encouraged me to do all my assignments told me not to worry as there was a type of light which the electricity authorities had no control over. She brought out a candlestick and a tin. Then she started the process and I watched excitedly.

She first of all warmed the bottom of the candle with the flame of a match. She held the candle over the middle of the tin. She continued to do it until several drops of grease had fallen into the middle of the tin. She used about three matches. Then she pressed the candle down into the drops of grease and she held it in an upright position until the grease was dry and hard. At first the candle was not firmly fixed in the grease and so it fell over. My mother had to repeat the whole process. This second time it got firmly fixed. Then she light the candle. 'So this thing was not a magic or trick j thought in my mind. My mother however warned me that I must make sure that the candle is firmly fixed in the grease before I light it. She also added that I must always place the candle on a tin or hard surface that is not **flammable**. If I am careless, the candle light can get the whole house burnt.

Best regards, @master-mimds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62981.24
ETH 3034.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75