HOW TO USE A SPRINKLER TO MAKE WEEDING EASIER

in #howto6 years ago

This was a great idea!


I recently shared about a garden being somewhere to be as well as somewhere to grow food, and today I took that concept to another level. I like finding creative ways to include my children in the tasks around the homestead, and I think that I nailed it again.

GOODBYE WEEDS - I'VE GOT CHILDREN AND A SPRINKLER!!!

Weeds are the bane of the gardener. Gardeners will work endlessly to try to grow food bearing plants, only to have those plants struggle for survival while random weeds pop up everywhere and take over. Many ideas about how to prevent and eliminate weeds have been developed over the years, and each may have its own pros and cons.

We are using some raised beds and some mulched walkways in our garden area in an attempt to prevent weed growth, and it is working t some degree. However, a few always find their way through. What's a gardener to do?

Well. pulling a weed is a simple enough task for the smallest child, so it is a job that doesn't always require the effort of an adult. However, sitting in the hot sun all day picking weeds is more like child labor than a child helping out the family, so toady I created an excellent solution. I picked up a few sprinklers to not only help us water our garden, but to also turn it into a water park, and make it somewhere that the @little-peppers really want to be!

As soon as the sprinklers are on the @little-peppers start showing up in swimming attire with great excitement. Now, they can enjoy the cool comfort of the sprinkler mist while pulling a few weeds. Work a little, play a little, and have a great time. Of course evaporating water can lead to sunburning more quickly, so you've got to be careful especially with lighter-skinned children, so keep that in mind.

I just let them loose and gave them the simple of instruction to "have fun and pick weeds." If I needed to, we could also turn it into math practice and give them some incentive with something like twenty weeds picked equals two minuted of free time, but my @little-peppers do a pretty good job anyway.

Additionally, a good spray with the sprinkler can also be a fun reward, LOL! Here is your reward, Pinkie-Pepper!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-a-great-gardening-idea

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Great idea!...:)...

It even worked!!!!

An ingenious way to get the weeds pulled! The kids and the garden get watered at the same time too! But does this activity cause the @little-peppers grow faster, like weeds in the garden?

Now, your question is inspiring. I think I'd like an answer too.

well now, thats a whole new dimension of creative use of resources lol ... i should have known better but i started reading half expecting the solution to be sprinkling weedkiller-solution in lots of water (stupid me ofcourse you wouldnt do that ... but i guess thats just my standard expectation living around here) thats AWESOME

You-are-awesome.jpeg
(now i used this png already once today, i hope the steemnazis dont flag me for spam hahah)
awesome creative green clean thinking

Thanks, and I'm glad that I didn't try the method that you thought I might have come up with. That would be crazy, but I could totally see some "genius" trying it!

i think that would be the standard here, really, there's some government regulation trying to break it down and prevent it but in reality they just let everyone get away with it (while if you were to sell 1 STEEM and not declare it to the tax office you would be a criminal ofcourse)

A year or so ago (two?) i had a runin even here with some nut doing the neighbours garden, he was spraying that stuff all over the place, even outside of the garden to the sides next to the street, which technically and legally is owned by the town so spraing poison there (according to their onw law) is simply 'dumping' . But the only answer i got was a bit of threats and "LET PEOPLE DO THEIR JOB" ... so "people" i guess really have no clue of what they're doing, its full of cats here, all peoples pets, dogs are walked they stick their noses everywhere but "o it's bio-degradable" ... (meaning when it rains it soaks into the ground and indeed dissolves into the ecosystem ...
if it were up to me i would even have all disposable packaging banned (including tetrapaks and pet-bottles) but then i would be the demon who kills employment i suppose (because of those 5 people left working in those 500 factories lol) ... but i'm not allowed in politics anyway here and even if
not in a thousand year would i want this country lol, not even as a dictator, you seem to have a great thing going there, i'm looking forward to more :)

a good idea and very creative in gardening, surely the world is very proud of the way you think @papa-pepper.

Hahaha...lol
I'm going to follow @little-pepper!

There's always a way our parents get us to do their work even if it means them allowing is have fun

keep Steeming!

The content of your post is very interesting, I really admire it ..
And I always support your success

lol, im not sure that Pinkie-Pepper is enjoying it :P awesome work on the garden and some great tips for when I start!

Exactly, this post contains some ideas for anybody that wants to start up a garden

Yup, it gets the whole family involved with some fun!!!

Lol, I guess I'm gonna adapt your idea somewhat. Meanwhile, I like what you're doing. It's nice to engage children. I like this

Bravo papa pepe
👍👊👍

cool,this is a very good idea, this way you will be easier to work.

Yup! Thanks man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61699.33
ETH 2887.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47