Creating and adding watermark to pictures in GIMP

in #howto6 years ago

Hi fellow steemians!

Let me show you a way you can create a watermark and add it to your picture, all done in GIMP.

First create the watermark.

Step 1; Create a new image

I chose to make a image a bit wider than the resolution of my camera. Camera shoots at the widest 5194 pixels so I created an image at 6000x100 pixels. This will allow me to play a little with the watermark if I need to shrink it some to make a better fit.

step1.PNG

Step 2; Fill with solid colour

Since I'm aiming to to make a watermark with a solid background I choose a grey colour. I also aim to fade the layer so the colour is not that important.

step2.PNG

Step 3; Add text

Add the text you want your watermark to contain. I chose a copyright symbol and my nickname on steemit.
Place the text on the far right (or wherever you want it)
After adding text you flatten image and export it in your favourite file format.

step3.PNG

step4.PNG


Adding your watermark to your picture

Step 5; Open you picture file in GIMP

Now open up your picture you want to add watermark to.
I like boats so I chose a photo I took of a Viksund 360 St Cruz Flybridge in the sunlight.

step5.PNG

Step 6; Open up your watermark as a layer

step6.PNG

Step 7; Move layer and fade it (if you want it faded that is...)

step7.PNG

Step 8; Flatten image and save your project

Here are the final photo with and without the watermark for comparison:

imagesigned.png

IMG_3790-1.jpg

I hope you find this useful and don't hesitate to ask if you have any questions.

Regards,

@richeros

(All work presented in this post including the photograph is content created by me)

Sort:  

Thanks for the instructions.

Namaste, JaiChai

Hope it's of some use to you. Thank you for leaving a comment :)

Great post @richeros ...very useful tutorial...

Thanks for dropping by and I'm glad you found this useful. Have a nice day!

Very clear instructions thank you

Thank you for the positive feedback @techpuffin, let me know if you need any assistance with your watermark project.

GIMP like be Photoshop or something for photo edited? I must tried/..

Yes, GIMP is a free & open source image editor and works in many ways like Photoshop. Let me know if you need any help. Good luck :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by richeros from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@cleverbot do you enjoy graphic watermarks like the one in this example?

We wake up all their sleepy heads so quietly and nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61