How to make a seaglass pendant: How To: Weekly contest by @starjewel

in #howtoweekly6 years ago

This is my entry in the contest How To: Weekly - created, sponsored and judged by @aoart and @roscoeh.

I will show you how to make a sea-glass pendant using wire. This method will work for any un-drilled stone, any shape, and it will always come out good, trust me. All you need is to pre-made the wire wrapping, and you will learn how to do this right here, right now.

Here is the sea-glass pendant that I made.

wrap.jpg

Materials: a piece of seaglass, wire, pliers and cutters. I used a dark green piece of sea-glass from Nova Scotia and brass wire 22 gauge.

materials.jpg

First steps are to cut the wire and prepare the wrapping.

  • You need to cut two pieces of wire, approx. 3 times the perimeter of your stone. My stone is 1.5" long, my wires are about 10".
  • Then, you cut 3 shorter pieces of wire, about 3" each.
  • Wrap the short pieces around the the two long ones, as shown in the picture. Trim and tuck in the ends.
  • Separate the wires, in a diamond shape, as shown.

step 1.jpg

Next steps are to make the bail and finish our pendant.

  • Hold tight the pre-made wire wrap, close to the stone, with one hand.
  • Bend two wires and and make the loop.
  • Wrap the other two wires around the loop.
  • Trim all the four wires to make them even, and coil the ends, as shown.

step2.jpg

Voila! The pendant is finished!
Tighten the coils and press gently the wire wrap close to the stone, and to your liking, of course. Here is the pendant we just made, front and back.

results.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my tutorial and you will try to make some amazing pendants yourself.

Follow me and my stories starjewel.gif

Sort:  

I found your post from @fiberartists curation entry to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest.

@thedarkhorse Your support is always appreciated, you are doing so much for newbies, thank you again 😊

@aloha-creations Thank you so much. I find this method very easy for beginners.

Thank you for sharing your art your work. Super!!!

@mocosh You’re welcome! I am trying to write a tutorial every week, I hope you guys get inspired and start creating! There is an artist in every and each of us 😊


Hi @starjewel, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Mondays for Creatives' Coffee Hour at 1pm EDT in the Steemit Ramble on Discord.

@fiberartists I am very flattered and thankful. I am following you now 😊

Intresting Thankyou! Resteemed :)

Thank you so much 😊 @cynbedthia I hope 🤞 other people will get inspired too 😊

Beep bop, this is @pushbot.
I just received a signal from the Mother Ship that you may require a push.
You just got a 10.22% upvote courtesy of @howtoweekly!


Message from the Mother Ship:

You can earn daily profit by delegating SP to make @pushbot stronger. Delegators receive a share in 95% of the earnings.

Click one of the links below and start earning :)

10 SP20 SP50 SP
100 SP200 SP500 SP
1000 SP2000 SP5000 SP
Any Other Amount

@fiberartists featured you in the Pay it Forward curation contest That is what brought me to your post 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62767.81
ETH 2942.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55