Maybe just a little bit gnomish

in #humor5 years ago

Do you know what a gnome is? I think most people have a concept thanks to children's stories, cartoons and movies...And who hasn't stolen a garden gnome or two in their time? I haven't of course, that would be the wrong thing to do...😇

I googled "gnome" and this is what came up:

  • A legendary dwarfish creature supposed to guard the earth's treasures underground.
  • A small garden ornament in the form of a bearded man with a pointed hat.
  • A small ugly person.

It all sounds legit however out of the three options above guarding the earth's treasures sounds the best right? Who wants to be judged as a small ugly person?

Above you can see a photo of your typical garden-variety gnome me wearing my new beanie which my mother in-law made for me. I'm off to a shooting event this long weekend and it's expected to be quite cold at night, close to zero degrees, so she decided to make me this beanie to keep my noggin warm. Normally my noggin self-heats due to all the thinking I do, like a CPU, however on the weekend I'm putting it in park, shutting down the engines and letting the old noggin take a break...So it might get cold.

I'm pretty happy with my noggin warmer as it's not itchy on my noggin and isn't too hot having a sort of semi-open weave to it. I also like the colours as it will help me blend into the environment. OD green (khaki) is one of my go-to colours along with just about any sort of cammo when I'm out shooting so it works. She must know what I'm like...After 31 years of having the pleasure of being my mother in-law you'd expect that though. She made it using the device in the image here. She would have knitted it by hand however the feeling has not come back to her hands after her cancer treatment [chemotherapy] so this method is easier for her. I'd give you a technical explanation of how it works but I have no clue about it so you'll have to make it up for yourself. OK, you twisted my arm, I'll give it a go...

You get the wool, twiddle it around those little yellow pegs working your way in a circular motion, weaving and twiddling, twiddling and weaving and then...You're done. Nothing to it! Anyway, it doesn't matter how it works, I have my beanie and whilst I now resemble a gnome it'll keep my noggin toasty negating the need to fire it up and use it to generate noggin-warmth over the weekend.

So, if you ever feel inclined to go underground and steal the earth's treasure's you may just find me right there guarding it. Make sure you come prepared ok? On the other hand, the next time you steal a garden gnome from some poor unsuspecting neighbour it could very well be me you're picking up...Or...Maybe I'm just a small ugly person and finally found my gnome-hat to complete the look. Either way at least my noggin will be cosy and warm this weekend. Thanks mother in law. Good work.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
Hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209

Sort:  

Nice hat! And I hope you have a fun weekend.

Should be good...Better than a poke in the eye with a blunt stick anyway. :)

I don’t remember what the technique is called but I know the basics and kinda wanna get one of those thingies, though I don’t know what I would do with it, beanies are not really my thing.

They're not my thing either really, as you can see, but my noggin will be warmer and it gives my mother in-law something to do..I'll probably end up with 27 beanies. :)

I think it suits you very well actually, and I have a great sense of style so you will have to believe me.

Aww thanks, I’ll take it! 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice brain warmer she did a great job👍

Posted using Partiko Android

The benefits of a warm noggin cannot be overstated.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love beanies but have not had much chance to use given my tropical homes over the last decades! I still carry them aroubd when traveling cause they make me feel cool!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You have to move somewhere cooler, at least so you can wear a beanie sometimes!.

Posted using Partiko Android

Gnomes are my favorite mythical creatures - all that mining with old fashioned tools is totally respectable. Compare that to a unicorn that just flits around eating clover and acting magical. Gnomes win every time.

So year round my husband wears a beanie when he takes naps. They are like black out shades, so there is a potential summertime use. Looks very nice, the colors suit you. I wish you lots of luck at the big shooting thing.

I'm pretty happy with my gnome hat.

#beanielife #gnomelife

Posted using Partiko Android

Gnot a gnome you reckon? XD

Beanni looks good and toasty :D

It is. Just about to throw it on for it be getting cool here...

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh shush, it's cute :P SO are gnomes, so I don't see what you're on about :D

Nakey gnomes...Legit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Just commented that. Fucking mind-reader :))

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.445 which ranks you at #2106 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 11 places in the last three days (old rank 2117).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 170 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 6.08% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00