A daughter's tribute to her mother

in #humour5 years ago

"I won’t always agree with you,
but I’ll always love you.
My choices for you won’t always make you happy,
but they will always keep you safe.
You will learn to stand on your own two feet
but I will always support you.
You won’t always be a child
but you’ll always be my child.'

These were my thoughts amongst the crystal and the flowers on my daughter Mally’s 21st birthday.
Her grandmother and I sat at the beautifully decorated table and watched and listened with pride as our beautiful girl spoke to her friends and family gathered to honour this milestone in her life.

I remembered her as a newborn bundle placed in my arms after a 6 hour delivery and wept tears of gratitude onto her pale red downy head. She was the prize that my mother and I had adored after the death of her dad 3 months before she was born.
Our love for her had never waned.

Her speech was deliberately lighthearted and was largely a testimony to me and mothers everywhere. She had us all laughing and crying with her fun and the subtle truths wound into her jokes.
She began, 'I asked my mom a question, "what’s it like to have the greatest daughter in the world?" My mother cut me down to size when she answered,
"I don’t know - you’ll have to ask your Grandmother."

She raised her hand and blew the pair of us a kiss.

She continued by saying, ‘Mom, how come computers are so smart?
‘Because,’ she replied, ‘they listen to their motherboards.’

The most common conversation between a child and his or her mother is:
“Why momeeeee?”
Answer “because I said so!”

As we all laughed, grateful for the chance to relax on the eve of her departure to university..
She continued…….
‘there is a legend that says when you are in the bath and you scream “mom” 3 times.
A nice lady appears with the fluffy towel you forgot.’

‘Nice one Mally,’ echoed her cousin who has been her closest friend and almost sister for their 21 years on this earth.

‘You know I bought a garment with suggested washing instructions that suggested a whole variety of choices. At the end in bold type it said,
If you’re lucky enough to have a mom around, just ask her.’

As champagne were popped and glasses were raised in a tribute to me she said, ‘the dictionary states that the word MOTHER is a noun.

Pixabay
The meaning is – a person who does the work of 10 people completely free of charge……………. Also see, loony, crazy, woman and SAINT.'
I wiped my eyes as my brother boomed, 'hear hear,' and a few others clapped.

Her fond granny wiped tears of laughter from her eyes and added, ‘Mally, you are living testimony to the saying: “If at first you don’t succeed, try doing it the way your mother told you in the first place.

The tributes and toasts ended with my short tribute to my special daughter. I had a small scroll and read it to her………
‘My dearest daughter
If I could give you one thing in life, it would be the ability to see yourself through my eyes. Only then would you realise how special you are.
Wherever you are in the world, slaying dragons and conquering mountains, simply know that your mother has your back. Remember to the last, 'Because your MOTHER SAID SO!'

Copyright - Justjoy - All rights reserved

Sort:  

Hi @justjoy, a fitting and wonderful celebration to a lovely mother who raised a lovely daughter. So enjoyed reading your post.

Didn't see this until now!
I appreciate your reading my blog and taking time to comment. Thank you
To live is to CELEBRATE even if its just with mince on toast because it's Tuesday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86