Hunting trip preparation

in #hunting6 years ago

I'm going hunting tomorrow with my dad and my sister's boyfriend. We're hunting hog and axis deer in South Texas.

Here's my provisions:

IMG_20180802_202844621.jpg

In the backpack:

  1. Water
  2. A day of food
  3. Ear protection
  4. Small survival kit
  5. Night vision rig
  6. Two full magazines
  7. A knife
  8. A bunch of 750# Paracord

The black rifle is my .22 with an IR laser for night shooting. We'll take it out for fun at night. It's not for taking any serious game.

The bundle next to it is my chest rig. It is loaded out with ammo and medical. 4 mags, two tourniquets, and all the bandages I can squeeze in it. It and the backpack will be loaded out for the day and worn together while we are out. I like to have a light pack when I'm out, so my night vision rig will stay at camp. It's heavy and bulky.

The silver bag is full of cleaning supplies and gun maintenance.

Bae is my big rifle that I posted about some time ago. We took her out yesterday and made sure she was sighted in and ready to go. Check.

Toilet paper and baby wipes. It's important.

Whiskey. Also important ;)

I'm looking forward to the man time. I haven't been out for the sole purpose of hunting before, even though I spend plenty of time in the outdoors and have opportunistically taken a few rabbits.

I don't know if anyone here will comment about the nature of my gear, but I know there are people out there that will be put off by the militaristic appearance of it. That's fine, but this is the gear I'm comfortable with. This is my all purpose rifle. My truck gun, my home defense weapon, and my hunting rifle. It is set up how I like it for those purposes. The chest rig and backpack are comfortable, durable, and simple. They do their job and are easy to use.

I'll try to make a few quick posts this weekend, but there may be limited cell service out there. Y'all have a good weekend :)

Stay relevant

Nate

Sort:  

howdy sir nateonsteemit! this is great, you are so prepared and organized. how are you going to hunt the hogs? how do you find them?

I'm not sure if they have feeders set up or if we'll have to go trapsig fo em. They shouldn't be that hard to find really. The property is supposedly overrun with em.

ha! well you guys be careful, heard alot of stories and warnings about those suckers! you guys gonna eat some, I heard they taste good but it doesn't appeal to me! good luck though!

My husband is off doing his big love today: deepsea fishing. His prep is similar yet different from yours. He will only be gone from 2:30 AM to about 8:30PM tonight. Hopefully he will come home with a cooler of fish.

I hope and pray that he does!

As with most things, I may be in over my head here. If I take a pig, I'm not sure where we'll put it 😂 We've got friends with a deep freezer, so the meat will probably end up being split with them (@burntoblog, be ready). It'll be a good little supplemental meat source I think. I've heard wild pork chops are great.

What kind of fish does your husband usually harvest?

He called an hour ago and said he'd gotten haddock, pollock, and cusk. He likes to get cod, but you can't keep any anymore. Our favorite is redfish (ocean perch) but they are out of season now.

Very good! Just got home and cleaned up. We didn't take anything but we all got tired and sunburnt and had a good time. Glad your hubby had a productive time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95