Eat What You Grow - My Endless Hydroponic Veggie Setup

in #hydroponics6 years ago (edited)

Who says money doesn’t grow on trees?

Ok… Maybe not real money, but the money I don’t have to spend on veggies at the store.

A few month ago, @halcyondaze let me borrow one of his garden hydroponics towers for my room and I’ve been eating well ever since.

20180112_123710.jpg

This is my veggies as of today… Who would have thought winter in California could produce such an abundance of purple kale, merlot lettuce, mint, Thai basil, and purple tomatillos!

20180112_123652.jpg

This legitimately feeds 2-3 people easily. All I need to do for maintenance is fill it up with water every few weeks, add some pH down to prevent bacteria and help with nutrient uptake, and use good old General Hydroponics 3-part nutrients.

20180112_123752.jpg

I like to use unique seed varieties because why bother growing things you can get in the store. Here is a special merlot lettuce that is the reddest lettuce you can buy. I grabbed the seeds from the good people at rareseeds.com.

20180112_123722.jpg

If you know me, you’d know how much I LOVE PHO. I love it so much that I make it at home. Usually, when you get it at the restaurant it comes with veggies like Thai basil, mint, and other goodies. I’m actually growing this mint from a restaurant I visited.

Don’t let them find out :P.

20180112_123740.jpg

Here are some purple tomatillos flowering and giving some of the bees delicious food during winter. I actually ate a leaf the other day thinking it was Thai basil...it’s poisonous…

Not going to make that mistake again. Good thing I didn’t feel bad after.

20180112_123803.jpg

Usually, Kath (@mintpaperplane) has Fridays off, so to treat her for slogging through a rough work week, I decided to make her an omelet.

Lucky woman gets breakfast in bed.

IMG_0776-1.jpg

It was a success!

Nothing beats making food from your own garden. If you don’t have land, pick up one of these hydroponic towers to supplement your veggie intake. Then you don’t have to worry about what pesticides were placed on your leafy greens.

As an added bonus, look who’s joining the family!

20180112_123811.jpg

This is a Giant Fuyu persimmon I’m growing from seed. It’ll take awhile before it’s big enough to produce fruit, but why not start now and invest for the long term.


Thanks for following along!

If we haven’t met yet, please leave me a comment so we can!

By the way, I’m Jon. Most of my time is spent on my AI company and meeting new people on Steemit. I have lots of hobbies like traveling, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, gardening, cooking, reading and crypto - which I plan to share here. If any of these topics interest you, please let me know so we can chat more!

Cheers,

JONCIRCLE.png

Jon

P.S. What are you growing right now?

Sort:  

nice...you veggie plants look amazing...

Thanks! It's crazy that when you grow hydroponically everything gets big quickly. When I plant the same thing in soil... It's like watching things grow in slow motion.

So glad to see you putting the tower to use! You're killing it with those veggies

Thanks! Just trying to keep it simple. The main problem in the past was letting the water run too low... Hard to come back from wilted plants.

WHAT a GREAT post!
our green looks s healthy!

I am impressed with this tower!

Nice for people and gardeners with limited growing and gardening space.

Thank you. I'm glad that your greens are growing well and and are healthy. Yeah, I'm continually impressed by this tower and the abundance it produces in my limited amount of space.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70