HAPPY INDEPENDENCE DAY 🇳🇬steemCreated with Sketch.

in #i-rise6 years ago (edited)

images (7).jpegsource

I watched a video of late tafawa balewa visit to America in 1961, Tafawa Balewa was the 1st Prime Minister in Nigeria. I watched this video (it's on YouTube by the way) and I think for the very first time in my life I was proud of my nation, the kind of honor they gave this man was overwhelming and to think at that time racism was still rampant...So why would they welcome a black Prime Minister in that manner? What was he doing right that our leaders are not doing now? One Nigeria pound used to be higher in value than a dollar, even when we changed to Naira. One Naira was still greater than one dollar, that was how awesome Nigeria economic was, all these things are not myths..prior to now whenever any one tells me about a naira used to be high in value than a dollar, i don't really pay attention to it but it's true. Then this bring me down to what happened to our economy?single minded leaders? Greedy Leaders? Corrupt leaders? Self centered leaders? So many questions in my head........

Well I have news for you today!!! This country is blessed regardless what we facing now, we have wonderful youths with great potential and I hope you won't sell yourself low, to every youth out there we can make Nigeria great again by changing our mindset, by not thinking about ourselves alone but the next generation, by the actions we take now, by taking responsibilities, by not limiting ourselves. Let's not fold our hands and say there is nothing we can do, let's not continue to watch their generation destroy our future and our kid's future, we got power let's use it... Please let's change our negative mindset that nothing can be done. I believe in prayers and I believe in action too.. You can't sit in the corner of your room and all you do is pray without acting... Please don't sell your votes,please don't sell your future,please don't be single minded.. You have a great potential in you and when you were born you are probably one of the solution to Nigeria problem... So today I just want you to think deep about this nation! If you love politics Join them, if you think it's a dirty game then please join with the mind set to make it clean. We need good leaders. If you have passion for business get the right coaching, get the right mentors or whatever you have passion for that can help this nation please start, please don't be idle, please don't just think about the present, please believe in this nation and be the reason it will be great again.... I see a new Nigeria and I hope you do too. #newNigeria


This post was originally posted by me on my facebook wall. ref

To know more about this contest check here...

Below is a video of me singing the second stanza of the nation anthem also known as national prayer. Enjoy my chicken voice.. 😂

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations @peachyladiva! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

The words at the bottom of your YouTube video was real funny. Watched because I wanted to see what you look like though. God bless nigeria. #bigwaves

Love your entry.
You don old sha, how many people still remember the second stanza?😅

Happy independence chicken voice🇳🇬

Applaudise well done but this your video interpretation nor be here ooo, anyway you have done well goodluck.

Lol
Yeah
Thanks alot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61