Wafflicious – Shugatori Dessert Café

in #icecream6 years ago (edited)

Waffles have got to be the most basic dessert every dessert place must have. It is a perfect combination of pastry and sweetness, making it suitable for even people who do not fancy desserts that much. I have tried the waffles of many places already, but Shugatori Dessert Café has been trending a lot lately and I thought it was about time to give it a shot.

It is located in Uptown Damansara, the food haven of many, causing traffic and parking spot hunting to be a big pain in the neck. In the end, I decided to park in Starling Mall where the parking rates are free of charge for the first hour, and RM1 for every subsequent hour. I did not mind paying a reasonable rate if it meant saving me the hassle. However, I did regret a little as the walk to the café from Starling Mall was not exactly short. It probably took me approximately 10 minutes to walk over.

Given the café’s reputation, it was jam packed by the time I arrived at approximately 9.00pm. I had to wait a little for the existing customers to finish. Thankfully they had a bench outside so, I was pretty okay with it. The café had a white theme complete with white walls, tables and chairs. It was brightly lit with a little bit of greenery and bird themed decorations on the ceiling to match the café’s logo. It all looked very pleasing to the eye.

After about 20 minutes waiting time, my friends had arrived and the waiter called us in. We were seated on the side with the cushioned bench and pillows which was nice. Their famous Violet Waffle was not stated in the menu and we wondered if the season has already ended. Luckily I caught sight of the picture of it by the counter. We were not very pleased with the lack of thought they put into displaying what is available in their café. In the end, we decided to pick another waffle to try and share between the five of us. It took a very long time (approximately 30 minutes) for our first order, the Matcha waffle costing RM19.90 to arrive.

 


The presentation was beautiful, complete with matcha powder, coconut flakes and fruits, but the ice-cream was slightly melted when it was served on our table. I have tasted better matcha ice-cream and the waffle was slightly harder than I would have liked. Another 10 minutes later, the long anticipated Violet Waffle priced at RM23.90 arrived at our table.


 

I had to try very hard not to drool over the sight of it! It was SO gorgeously decorated and the name violet basically meant yam ice-cream. It had extra cream decorations compared to the matcha one, and had the same coconut flakes as well as fruit décor as the finishing touches. The taste of the yam ice-cream was absolutely to die for, while the waffle was even more over-cooked than the other. However, we still loved the Violet Waffle much more than the Matcha.
I think they probably would have done better if we visited at a non-peak hour. Given that it tasted so heavenly even though there were flaws to their waffles, I think I would give it another chance in the future. All in all, my rating for this place is 7/10.

If you love desserts as much as I do, here are the details:-

Address: 95, Jalan SS 21/1A, Damansara Utama
Hours:
Monday Closed
Tuesday 2–11:30PM
Wednesday 2–11:30PM
Thursday 2–11:30PM
Friday 2PM–12AM
Saturday 12PM–12AM
Sunday 12–11:30PM
Phone: 016-295 3277

Posted from my blog with SteemPress

Sort:  

Your post has been manually curated by littlenewthings

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations @jasonljw! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66