A coin that lets you own Power!!

in #icos6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-03-19 at 9.27.30 AM.png

This is NOT an advertisement. I do not work with this company or represent them. I want to post a short introduction to an ICO I have invested a small amount in (1 ether to be specific). This is not a pump post, nor is this financial advice. Do your own homework and research and make decisions that best fit your risk tolerance. Investing in any cryptocurrency is risky, and investing in ICO's is even riskier. With that said, let's explore a fascinating token model...

First, you should visit https://4new.io and check out their white paper. The President, Saransh Sharma has recently mentioned they will be coming out with a yellow paper which seeks to clarify a few recurrent questions that have arisen from their white paper. Check out this link to see a recent interview with Mr. Sharma regarding this and other 4new items. https://twitter.com/bizzrett/status/974510200076906496

All that being said, what compels me to write about this and to share it is simply this, I am fascinated by the tokenization of power that this seeks to achieve. Whether it is successful is anyone's guess, but the setup alone is intriguing. I'm only going to discuss highlights and the general concept as you can review their white paper and watch the interview to learn more if you really want to dig.

Here it is in a nutshell. They have already built a landfill and power plant site in the UK, which will be one of two sites they initially deploy on in the next 24 months. The first site is built and you can view images of it here. https://4new.io/gallery/. They are building storage pods that can house 6000 mining units which will be transferred to the site from Florida. Essentially the concept is they will generate revenue by taking waste and converting it to power. You will have to review the white paper to get more specifics on this. https://4new.io/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/4NEW-WhitePaper.pdf

Screen Shot 2018-03-19 at 9.01.51 AM.png

What I'm most interested in is the concept of:
A. Tokenizing power, allowing ownership of 1 KWATT coin to equal 1 kilowatt of power (for a year)
B. The ability of the coin holder to either participate in selling that power for public usage (which would be conducted by 4new) or a coin holder can opt to direct their power toward the mining farm they will have onsite
C. The ability to sell my coins on the market

So conceptually with this coin if I understand all the specs correctly, I will own coins which reflect directly 1 kilowatt of power which I see as a dividend of sorts. I can choose each year to designate how I want to handle the energy I own which is generated by the 4new plant, I can either sell the power on the open market (which they say the typical market rate is $0.15 USD) or I can use my power in their onsite mining operation, choosing any of the 20 coins they are going to mine to get paid directly in whatever coin I choose to mine. While the return isn't substantial, I love the idea that I'm invested in a coin that has true utility behind it, power, which I am able to either sell or direct toward mining, either of which directly correlates to a financial payout for holding the coin. Of course, I can sell my coins at any given time on the market should I choose.

While I do not want anyone to invest in this project based upon my layman thoughts on it, I sincerely hope you will review some of the items I've posted on here and check this project out. It is worth being aware of at minimum and I look forward to watching it progress. Projects like this are what fascinate me about cryptocurrency. More than anything, I'd really like to hear your thoughts on this project. As I've said, it is extremely risky and something like this seems to have more likelihood of failing than succeeding. Regardless, the ramifications and possibilities are awe inspiring!!

Sort:  

@bprange, nice review! Interesting coin and I like the idea of tokenizing electricity. I noticed that Moe Levin is on the advisory board for this project and he has a knack for advising great projects!

I am not too sure about the incentives and the payout structure in this project like you pointed out with the 15 cent market rate lmao and hope they clarify the dividends that you will receive in terms of the net revenues they generate and that they are more attractive then the market rate for the electricity.

Since you like this project, you will like another Utility Token that I did a review on called MyBit which basically monetizes IOT devices. I think you will enjoy this project a lot because the payouts can be better, there are more options of really profiting off MYB (from staking & dividends, investing in IOT stakes or from sheer price appreciation)and it has a similar concept in which you can sell ownership stakes in the IOT devices (like how in Kwatt you can sell your stakes in the energy you own).

Thanks for your comment on my Poly post, and I will check out Crowd Machine and possibly edit my review to add them with tZERO as it seems insane and completely disruptive, bc automating the smart contract coding (that's like the bulk and grunt work that dev teams throw in thousands of hours for!) is just absolutely insane and I'm glad Poly has them as a partner as well!

Thanks @daddyku! Always love your input and feedback. I'll check out your review as I don't know anything about MyBit. There was an article recently (here it is from my twitter feed https://twitter.com/bizzrett/status/973559347484725249), which discussed a few ICOS that POLY is assisting with. One of them, Databroker DAO sounds similar to MyBit. If you get a chance, check out the link and let me know your thoughts. I really am curious who else is building on the security token protocol. I heard an interesting comment the other day that Goldman Sachs having purchased Polinex through its subsidiary Circle has the intent to create the first SEC fully compliant/regulated exchange whereby all coins listed on it will by default be regulated. Seems a genius and quick way for them to usher in larger institutional money...

@bprange, I have requested to follow you on Twitter! (can't view the link otherwise :'( )

Ok I just added you. Sorry about that. Definitely check out that link, let me know if you can't find it and I'll send to you directly. Also, here is a good you tube review from "Sin the Krypt Keeper"...lol, funny name, he is pretty insightful though....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73