Crypto ICOs, Distributed Venture Capital for the Fearful?

in #ideas6 years ago

Venture Funds, Loans, ICOs, oh my!

I'm posting because something seems to have clicked recently in the way I see things. I've always been interested in the concept venture capital. Mostly because in the past I've had ideas that sparked, and I've thought wow that would really be a great way for a business. But in the end it never went anywhere because I've never had the financial backing to move forward.

Venture Capital always seemed to me over the years to be like a better version of a business loan. For a risk averse person, the idea of venture fund investing in a good idea, and if it didn't succeed in the end it just wasn't a successful venture not a huge personal loss.

I've heard of Venture Capital firms, and seen the great companies to come out of them especially in the IT world. The entire process always seemed mystical to me and no amount of googling ever really got me closer to being able to seek something like a Venture Capital firm to make my ideas real. Especially given my introversion towards dealing with people the idea of going to a bank and all the risk involved just turns my stomach when I think about it.

The world of Crypto ICO's is rife with scams and failed companies/teams, that's true, but so is the world of Venture Capital investments. The difference is in the world of ICO's its not some big VC fund, that you need to convince your worthy for a multi-million dollar investment. In most cases an ICO is just a team trying to convince people that hey "that idea might be worth a few dollars" and due to the size of the crypto marketplace especially as it expands, that 1$ from a random stranger, turns into a multi-million dollar fund to see an idea come to fruition.

To be...

solar-panel-array-power-sun-electricity-159397.jpeg
The world of ICO's continues to be a temptress to me, I'd love to be able to build that solar plant on the small island I live on. Given the value of power on the island the return on investment would be easily a profitable indeavour, and the concepts and technology are all easily obtained. The work of registering a company and dealing with the website development, team building and marketing of an ICO doesn't seem scary and feels like a much easier hurdle to get over than the idea of the old school ways of raising funds for a venture (bank or vc fund) just seem so insurmountable to deal with as just an individual with an idea.

or not to be...

So why am I writing a post on Steem instead of starting my ICO for my great idea? Well that's a good question, part of it is while it may be easy to raise money with an ICO, and like a Venture Capital investment, if the project doesn't go well, its just "another failed ICO', no huge life destroying financial implications really... The fact remains in my mind that it would still be a failure, one I would feel the burden of heavily from letting myself down, as well as not just some random faceless VC fund, but thousands of strangers who would have trusted me.

So while the path to a possible success is easier than it may have ever been for a capable tech savvy individual, I still find myself fighting past that first hurdle, it might be a smaller, different hurdle, and perhaps one even tailored for a techie sysadmin, with a pension for cryptocurrencies like myself.

Fear Remains just in a different form, fear of letting others down, fear of being another failed idea in a sea of failed ideas or worse yet considered a scam because in the world of crypto the line between failed endeavors and endeavors that never existed in the first place is beyond blurred. How does one overcome that fear of taking the first step towards a better life, toward a brighter future, someday I finally step over that first hurdle.

Good Bye for now

I've rambled a bit longer than I intended, but as my first post on steem, and something I honestly feel and think about on an almost daily basis this post sort of fell out of me.

Sort:  

Congratulations @lordpuddingcup, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @lordpuddingcup! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62