Inspiration! (IFC entry S02R06)

in #ifc5 years ago

Unsplash

This is my entry for the Information Finding Championship Season 2 Round 6 (run by @ifc and @apolymask), with the topic of "Inspiration".

As a musician (or anyone working in any field!), it is important to continually find joy and playfulness within your work, this is the place where new and daring ideas can be found, and more importantly, it guards against boredom and routine. Now, when your work is also your passion, it can be a dangerous thing... as you will often be required to conform to creative ideas and visions that you may not whole-heartedly agree with. Now, this is not a bad thing either.. in music, we produce performances as part of a team, and working together as a team requires the balancing between the collective vision and the individual vision of the piece.

However, something that I have seen in other musicians (both old and young), is a distancing of themselves away from ideas and performances that they are part of, but might not consider the "ideal" vision. This is a horrible thing to see, as it is a fundamental rejection of the art that you are producing... and whether or not it is your personal "best" vision is irrelevant, you are part of the performance! And once you get in the habit of disowning your creative work... it very quickly becomes "work", dull and lifeless with no joy or inspiration... routine.

So, in this post, I'm writing about the various things in my professional life that help me keep inspired, to take ownership of my performances, and to remember to find the joy and playfulness that is the life of any endeavour!

Being inspired from above!

By Paul Ruet - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0

Well, I have one particular boss in mind when I write this section. This man, Ton Koopman is one of the bastions and founding members of my particular field of music. It wouldn't be an understatement to describe him as an absolute giant of the field. So, it is with great pride and surprise that I found myself accepted into his orchestra some years ago....

Different leaders have different styles, but that is a post for a different time. With this guy, he is full of joy for the music... perhaps not as exact or precise as other players/leaders... but the pure joy and playfulness in his playing and the daring risks that he takes... well, let's just say that it is truly inspirational for someone like me! This is the way that I want my own playing to be balanced towards... technique and accuracy is fundamental, but need to be second place tools to unlock the joy, playfulness and daring in your performance! Quite often, it can be seen that the balance of priorities is the wrong way around (not just in music...).

Even as he nears his 70's he is still full of energy and life... it is like he is still a teenager, discovering the music that he has played for the last half century for the first time! It is this sort of leadership in a creative field that truly inspires you to play your best and to contribute your utmost to the collective vision!

Being inspired from below!

Unsplash

In a job that is top level, it is easy to be inspired by the entire situation and just be dragged along passively (although, you shoudn't be passive!). In a lower level performance, you do sometimes need to search a little bit harder for that inspiration (the choice of NOT searching is that horrible pitfall habit!).

We all remember the first time that we did something... everything is just that little bit more vivid, every step is new and exciting! After the twentieth time (or more...), it is all too easy to forget that first joy of discovery. When I'm playing in a group that is either accompanying amateurs or in a group with less experienced musicians, I love to watch and feed off the enthusiasm that the people who are new to the piece or the situation (a concert...).

For a professional, it is normal to be doing a concert (or more...) every week... and so, it is all too easy to forget what a rush and how important it is for someone who is doing it for the first time... or that only does a concert once a year or once every few months! This excitement and joy is something that is quite infectious if you don't close yourself off from it...

Being inspired from within!

Unsplash

However, it is dangerous to rely solely upon outside sources to inspire yourself... A more reliable source of inspiration is the one that has it's source from within yourself. In all professions and processes, there is a wealth of intricacy that is apparent to the outsider, but as a practitioner, you start to forget how complex any task (however simple seeming...) is! The things that you take for granted, because you have spent hours, days, weeks, years honing your skills to the point that it is instinctive and habitual can lead you down the path of forgetting...

However, these skills are the starting point for the joy of true discovery... the moment that you need to stop thinking about how to mechanically move your feet to keep balance is the moment that you can begin to dance! Likewise, once your skills in a certain area (for me it is music... on the instruments that I am fluent on!) approach a point where it is subconscious, you have reached a point where you can either take joy and be brave in playing with the tools at your disposal... or to use your skills to stay safe in a comfortable zone.

For me, this is the critical choice... to continually inspire yourself, you do need to push the boundaries of your bravery, not so much that you make a complete disaster, bu enough to give you that feeling of newness. To stay forever in the comfortable zone is not a path that lends itself to inspiring yourself (and by extension, others...), but a path that leads to routine and habit. Of course, that said, there is a balance... you can't forever stand in the risky zone, you extend by building outwards from strength, which means that you also need some part of yourself rooted in the comfortable zone!

Concluding...

Unsplash

These are the sources of inspiration that I find in my work... sometimes from outside sources, but more importantly from within. Central to all of it, is to actively find the moments of joy and playfulness in the performances that I'm part of. Sometimes that is an easy thing to do... other times, you need to look a bit (alot...) deeper. However, these things are always there to inspire us... and to forget to look for them is the beginning of the slide down to lack of care and ownership.

Now, in this post, I gave examples from my own experience... which is heavily based upon music performance. It is easier to see parallels in similar creative fields, however, I do know that the same sort of idea applies in Science, where great ideas are born from the playfulness of scientists and engineers. Likewise, it is a concept that I think applies to every aspect of our life... things that seem routine and habitual, can contain much much more interest and complexity than we remember, it is just the will to look and discover it has disappeared...


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

What an inspiration from your pictures above! Nice jump!

Thanks, but the pictures are from Unsplash.com!

Hi @bengy, nice meeting you. I don't believe I've crossed paths with you before.
As a professional Musician, I have upvoted and resteemed this post. I've been
Playing piano since I began lessons at age 11, 53 yrs ago. I have played lots
Of Classical music, but not in any sort of orchestra or even group setting.
I've always done a blend of stuff, whatever would make me some $, but
At the same time we had fun doing it. Unfortunately, our 'fun' often
Included alcohol and various illegal substances, which lead to my
Downfall. Now that I'm clean and sober, I can't abide the notion
Of showing up for a performance or practice where another
Member either doesn't show or is clearly impaired (as I
Was on so many occasions). Now, I am strictly a solo
Act, doing a 'one man band' thing playing for older
Folks performing older folks' music. I am my own
Band, and I only have myself to depend on. This
Has its downsides too, but when I see the joy
And laughter in the faces of my audience,
As I am cavorting and joking between
Songs, it fills me up spiritually. I hope
Soon to be back at my full abilities
(soon to have hip surgery) and
When I do! Watch out world,
I'm on my way
elephant nose-mustache.gif

Hi, nice to meet another fellow musician! It is such a great joy to know that you are touching the hearts of people with your music! Too often, it is a thing that we can forget about... we start to think about the performances in terms of ourselves. Hope to see more of you in the #classical-music tag!

I have a few videos of my performing solo, doing Beethoven (Moonlight 1st and 2nd movement ) and Mozart 11th sonata in A for violin (obviously NOT on violin 😜) Tema thru variation 3 or 4...


I get sloppy in places, way out of practice. This video is years old too
I can also do the minuet in G
by Beethoven, most people don't do the trio, but I do. (no video of that
however) so I sort of doubt I would have anything to use that tag with
@bengy, sorry.
I DO perform several 'Ragtime' pieces, would that count?
Just joking.

Sure, I make sure to also keep an eye on the #jazz and #folk tags as well!

Thank you bengy! You've just received an upvote of 49% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Thank you for the support, just a quick question... Would curation accounts like @classical-radio be eligible for the support?

thanks for sharing your sources of inspiration.

It's always good to try to think what it is that makes you enjoy what you do!

I love it, @bengy :) A very positive and lovely reminder to always not take our muses and inspirations for granted * ___ * And yes, inspirations can come from those who we look up to, and the beginners, and well as within ourselves, and we should not diminish each source's powers upon us :D

I feel more energetic now that I have read this post :D :D :D

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed the post... yes, it is something that we can't take as granted and forget to look for inspiration from all sources. It is especially critical in creative fields (like music or science) where you need to have that sense of playfulness to really excel!

As a musician (or anyone working in any field!), it is important to continually find joy and playfulness within your work

What if it is someone's job to drop bombs on people in war? I've seen some do that, the collateral murder video for example shows them having fun killing people.. Like it's a video game. I think that can be an area where you may want to not have fun doing such or it could seriously warp your brain in negative ways, however.. I do tend to agree with your statement for the most part and MOST jobs you should try to find a way to have fun with them.

Even as he nears his 70's he is still full of energy and life... it is like he is still a teenager, discovering the music that he has played for the last half century for the first time! It is this sort of leadership in a creative field that truly inspires you to play your best and to contribute your utmost to the collective vision!

That's awesome! I love hearing about people who are like that.. Super inspiring. :)

To stay forever in the comfortable zone is not a path that lends itself to inspiring yourself (and by extension, others...), but a path that leads to routine and habit. Of course, that said, there is a balance... you can't forever stand in the risky zone, you extend by building outwards from strength, which means that you also need some part of yourself rooted in the comfortable zone!

Some wise words here, I've been thinking about this subject a lot lately and I think you nailed it pretty good. Definitely gave me some stuff to think about and helped me refocus on things I need to get done!

things that seem routine and habitual, can contain much much more interest and complexity than we remember, it is just the will to look and discover it has disappeared...

Well said!.. I've been struggling with this a bit and at times I have tons of inspiration to do everything I enjoy doing, though sometimes I do it so much I need a break, yet I need to keep doing it. It can be difficult at times finding the proper inspiration especially if you're burnt out a bit, but I think if you can learn to look at it right that it helps a ton! Your example of Ton Koopman is a good one of this! And such an age and still having a blast. :) Similar to my father who is getting close to that age and he's out there capturing awesome pictures and inspiring me a ton!

Excellent post/entry bengy! I consider you an inspiring person in general considering how much you do and how well you do it on top of having a beautiful family as well, makes me strive to do similar in my life. :) Hopefully someday! And.. Your entry helped inspire me on a day when I've been mulling over things and procrastinating, which is very much appreciated! Hopefully in the future I can try to remember some of these things when I get in a similar position as I'm sure it won't be the last time! It tends to come and go, though with the right attitude hopefully it goes much quicker and I can become much more productive! :D Especially when there's so much to do and so little time! Awesome job with this subject and thanks for the inspiration!!

Whilst I don't condone killing or anything... I still think that to improve upon your skills, you do need to find a certain sense of "joy and playfulness" (terrible choice of words for that particular skill though....). It is via this, that you find the daring to hone your skills further... but, like I said, this is abstract rather than moral!

Thanks for the kind words about the post though! I do try to inspire others to push themselves further and higher in my normal musical work and as part of my leadership style (or even as a rank and file member...)... although, there are times that I wish someone else could do it instead....

Well said. And I agree with you, I just can't help but be stubborn sometimes and try to find exceptions to the rule when people say certain things. It's either a flaw or a good thing, I'm not sure.. But I tend to think it's good to help people reflect on their choice of words more. And in all reality, if war was a good thing then it would be good to have fun getting better at it, though I don't personally think war is a good thing at least not in the traditional military killing each other sort of way. Though if it was necessary, you would probably do better at it if you enjoyed it than if you were scared of it. It's a weird subject though indeed! Cause.. What that would do to the mind is not pleasant to think about.. Some of my favorite characters in movies or video games or whatever were people who reached a certain level of peace in battle, and.. That's why they were often the best. Yet.. That comes with some internal psychological junk that is hard to deal with.

Anyways.. You're welcome for the words about your post! And I appreciate that you try to inspire others. :) I think that's a great quality. In regards to your last statement.. I'm a lil mixed on that but I do think I can sort of relate in some ways.. Not saying I'm particularly inspiring myself, though I have tried to help the world a lot and even though I haven't accomplished much I do wish there were more people doing similar so I didn't have to try to do as much. Yet.. It is what it is, and we do our best I guess.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Bengy (also musicapoetica) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 425 (03/11/19)

Very inspiring @bengy. I love how true you are to your passions. We need more of that in this world ♥ Thank You!

Thanks! It's great to be able to find and give inspiration to others and yourself!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86