Dolphin Dreaming... (A speculative Poem for Conradt 's contest)

in #ifiwasadolphin6 years ago (edited)

If I were a dolphin
Swimming the steemit sea
I would stand up to the flag sharks
And protect little fishes

If I were a dolphin
And my vote could boost a post
I would spend hours on the new tab
Finding those who deserved it most

If I were a dolphin
If I woke up to a high score
I would jump on the bed
Roll around on the floor

If I were a dolphin
If a story had been that good
I would get it printed it a book
Like I always hoped I would

If I were a dolphin
If I ever found success
I would line up the shots all night
But really I digress

If I were a dolphin
Oh to be so blessed!
I would give away so many prizes
To those who’d entered my contests

If I were a dolphin
It would be of horror and gore
I would work with other writers
To support the genre more

If I were a dolphin
With steem power worth 23k
I would cash out a little bit
Just enough to put away

If I were a dolphin
If steemit could make me money
I would take every chance to write
Let my heart roam free

If I were a dolphin
With an online income
I could throw caution to the wind
Live my life on the run

If I were a dolphin
I would be in so many people’s debt
The gift of appreciation
Isn’t one I could forget

If I were a dolphin
I would not stand there alone
I would owe so much to so many
Those with whom I’ve grown

Although I am not a dolphin
Born out of the steemit seas
For anyone to want to read what I write
Is more than enough for me

So I would help smaller users who were getting to grips with the general expected etiquette. I would want to use my vote where it would count, and would devote time to doing that. I would want to give back to the communities that supported me, and definitely push ahead in creating the horror one we have in the talks stage. I would go back and give extra prizes for old contest rounds, and drop tips all over the shop! I would have to go out and celebrate, I feel like this may be different for me to some as for me to wake up and be a dolphin could only happen from one story having done insanely well, so I would want to get that story printed in a format I could keep forever. There is a good chance it would be the peak of my success, and I would want to mark it. I would owe so so much to so many, and wouldn't even know where to begin on paying them back. As wonderful as it would be, I am grateful for everything I already get!

This is my entry to @conradt 's contest to win @steembasicincome shares by outlining what you would do if you woke up a steemit dolphin with 10SP (worth around 23K in USD) I am cutting it real tight on the deadline, but hopefully I make it - somehow I managed to resist the tale of waking up a physical dolphin, just about!

Photo Credit by Pixabay User Myriams-Fotos who has such an incredible collection of nature shots.

Sort:  

What a cool entry @calluna - something different :)

Dont worry I am going to leave this open for another couple of days as I wont be on Steemit tommorow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97