Poetry: Introvert

in #ifoundnoel5 years ago

Frustrated,
I throw down words.

Digital ink struck from the underside of keys
unlocking the doors of perception between
syncopated concentration,
the off beats, oft beat
to the point of confusion;
and free thought that comes with the cost of collusion.

Every iteration of self
polluting the illusion
of a coherent individual,
with a
disjointed
narrative.

Yet still the words spill,
I grab at the few I can see to fulfil
the need that I have to express my free will.

Cast out in an ocean;
adrift;
lost and floating;
hopeless yet hopeful
I choose the direction to paddle.

I’m choosing these words, I choose what I say, and the way that I say what I’ve chosen to say, and I choose the day that I say what I’ve chosen to say in the way that I’ve chosen to say.

Yet often I stray.

The day chooses me, the way that I say what I say isn’t me, the words that I want are not there to be seen, so I stammer or argue ineloquently, and in such a moment I’m no longer free.

The tide of the ocean is carrying me.

The illusion of freedom is cast out to see.

So, I see that you see a different me, to the me that I see when I’m quiet and free.

So often I choose not to speak,
and clutch at the fragments of who I might be.

-NFW-

Sort:  

okay man this is my favorite one now
its me sometimes how your expressing yourself there lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56