Color Keys (Pirates of the Caribbean Reference)

in #illustration6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone!

I have some time in between jobs right now to develop my portfolio, and one of the things I want to become better at is painting and lighting. I wanted to try my hand at color keys, which are created in the pre-production part of a project to visualize camera, lighting, and atmosphere.

I wanted to work loose, so I used a fairly large brush, and I gave myself a time limit of 30 minutes.

Last night, I watched Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl, and took screenshots of shots that I wanted to recreate. I tried to find shots that had really powerful color profiles, interesting lighting, and camera angles that would be fun to emulate. Then I used them as a reference as I painted.

Here's the first one I did:

pirates color keys.jpg

And its reference:

Screen Shot 2018-02-21 at 9.23.09 PM.png

Here's the second color key I did:

pirates color keys2.jpg

And here is the screenshot I referenced:

Screen Shot 2018-02-21 at 9.33.04 PM.png

It was really fun working fast and loose like this. I tried to capture more of the feeling of the drawing rather than trying to get it to be a perfect replica. These two pieces were a great learning experience and I'm excited to do more of them.

I took some recordings of myself while I painted these and I'll be posting those later this week so stay tuned!

Thanks!

Sort:  

You should post more of your portfolio statement very creative

Thanks! I intend to :)

Very impressive! I love the palette and it’s a fun subject. I especially like how you idealized the scene into something better.

Thanks! These color palettes were both really fun to work with!

Oooo very nice! I think you also picked a couple of the best scenes for painting also!

Thank you! I tried to pick scenes that had really nice lighting and atmosphere that weren't overly complicated. It was super fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66991.04
ETH 3101.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74