CITY TOUR BUS ILLUSTRATIONS

in #illustrations6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys ! So I have been working on a a series for the last 4 months that i wish to share over here.

I was invited by an art gallery in Dubai last November after they had seen my illustrations of Chennai city, The owner wanted me to illustrate the local culture and the domestic settings of this magnificent city.

I was there from the 4th -12th November 2017. I was briefed to spend an entire day at different locations so that i could capture every movement.

Dubai as we all I’m now is known for its tourism and luxury shopping destinations. Also 90 % of the people living here are expacts ! It came as a big challenge to me since there was not much of the old/local Dubai left. This meant i had to actually get my self out there and speak to the local Emiratis and eat information out of them !

I spent a couple of hours a day speaking to different levels of people on my visit. I was playing as a tourist and as a local there so that i could get as better perspective of this city. I did all the touristy things that Dubai had to offer ! Except sky diving ! Something i would never do in my life!! I am scared to death of heights xD

Anyways, so I am back from my fun Trip and got to my pencil and papers. Let’s take you through some illustrations that i have created for this amazing gallery owner.

In this post i will show you the work on progress images from the start to the finish.

82E61DF0-5B74-4EE1-ABF8-E1A36F44EC0F.jpeg

     This is an illustration of the hop in hop off tour bus that every city has. 

I took the ‘big bus’ tour and loved everything that they had to offer !

Step 1:

9EC0B6FD-3A7F-4C9E-8F12-5BDDC5E1D1A7.jpeg

I start my sketch with basic shapes and then sculpt my way through the details.

E7278933-91EC-460E-8339-F64E39EC4436.jpeg

I love chaos in my sketches.! This means i need to pay attention to line weights and make sure every asset that i draw needs to stand out. My pens range from 0.1-1. This makes a huge difference! You’ll see why !:)

B4B7CE36-132E-49B2-BED1-08C7E61DACA8.jpeg

I love collecting stationary, so don’t freak out if you see 10 different kinds of pens and pencils on my sketchbook :)

B54B4D66-B9BB-4BE3-A403-D82C09F122D0.jpeg

It takes me a couple of hours just to get my compositions in order. Turns out to be fun while inking !

5533CD44-458D-49F3-B087-2F4E9675D592.jpeg

It looked something like this after 5 hours of work.. not bad uh ?

0542CACA-A099-4A2D-B17E-B80EC0B4C3DF.jpeg

I use the app procreate to render my illustration. Before Photoshop was my favourite.. it still is. But procreate makes my life easier and the Apple Pencil is just OMG. Since i render on my iPad, its so much easier when you’re traveling ! Work doesn’t stop ! You render while you are on the go.

This is the completed illustration:

F42912E6-D5CF-4710-AAC1-9708181A0E50.jpeg

I hope you enjoyed reading this post ! I have a couple of illustrations on Dubai that i will share in my future posts !
Do comment below on your thoughts or questions.. would love to answer them all !

                                                                                            STAY TUNED !
Sort:  

WELCOME, YOU! Can't wait for you to show the world your amazing artwork.

@manouche !!!:D. How are you ! This is my second post and it’s great.

Lol, love how you couldn't find me for your first post. I'm sure you're going to be amazing on the platform :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71