✏ Sketch Off Contest - Edition 1 ✏ #ImaginaryCreatures & #YearoftheDog - Prize Pot = 15 SBD

in #imaginarycreatures6 years ago (edited)

Welcome all ye pencil jockeys, sketch wizards and art afficionados. This is the very first edition of Sketch Off hosted by yours truly @zeroooc! Since this platform has given me so much already I figured it's time to pay it forward and do my part in supporting the emerging art scene and cultivating some creative fruits here by hosting an independent art contest. I'd also like to thank @drawitbetter for inspiring this off-shoot. I've tried to keep it simple for our first attempt, we'll use only simple materials so you can get started right away!


Our quest for this contest will be:

Theme: #imaginarycreatures

Mutator: #yearofthedog


What I am looking for in entries are things like:


caninezeroooc.png

This droopy coyote in rough charcoals and sharpie
Drawn by yours truly. Don't be afraid to be more creative than I!


shinydoge.png

This linocut style looking doggo sketch
Thanks to the mighty @shinyforest (who'll also help evaluating the entries)


Time to get the ball rolling! Here's how you can participate:

Rules and Stipulations:

  • Hand-In Format: A4 size only (landscape or portrait is cool though)
  • Medium: Pencils, Biros, Sharpies, LinoCut or Charcoal.
  • Posting: Your post entry has to include the name of the contest in its title (e.g. Imaginary Creatures) and your first tag needs to be #imaginarycreatures. You can also comment the link to your post under this entry!
  • Originality: You may only use your own content.
  • Process: Include at least one image of your creative process.
  • Deadline: One week after this post is made.

Prizes:

Position:Prize:Bonus Pool:
1st Place5 SBD + 100 DOGE+0.5 SBD
2nd Place2 SBD+0.5 SBD
3rd Place1 SBD+0.5 SBD
4th-10th Places0.5 SBD+0.5 SBD

Halfway Bonus! 13/01
  • +5 SBD added to the total prize pool by generous @Mammasitta which are to be evenly distributed between the top 10 contestants.
  • A +0.5SBD bonus hence ^^
  • +0.5 SP Delegations after the contest for each contestant by yours truly for at least 2 weeks after the contest has concluded. ^^

If you wish to sponsor this or future contests further, lemme know. :)


Alright, we clear?

ready, steady, go!

Good Luck and Have Fun,

ZeroOoC


Edit:
Thanks to @mammasitta who generously contributed another 5SBD to the prize pool to make it a total of 15SBD!

Sort:  

@Echowhale team swimming by with your upvotes

<3
Do you speak whale like Dory does?

Oh dear! Another One !!!! Beautiful Coyote!
Wolves and Hummingbirds 😵
I am an Earth dog! It’s my year!!! Also my daughters year. She is a wood dog

Hehehe yes I thought I'd give all the wicked artists here something to do while I work on your painting.
I am a Fire Tiger, Masha is a Metal Sheep and Cola cat is a Metal Tiger :)
So you guys are like a wolf pack? :D
This will hopefully be a good year indeed. Thanks for your resteem and epic support...let's see what the guys will come up with!

Let’s thank @ausbitbank who found us both :)
Yes we are a Wolves Pack indeed!
I can’t wait what this year will bring for both of us.
Super nice initiative! You know by now that I am your fan and support comes only for the “wicked” hahha!
#steemit-austria on the rise!!!

Well in that case...the old mantra applies.
No rest for the wicked
Thanks to both of you @ausbitbank & @mammasitta

Check dein wallet !!!

Great!
Now it's on it's way!
SBD > DASH > EUR > Canvas + Paint

Really great and atmospheric contribution @godo!
I like that you went a little more "abstract" and "moody"!
Gonna leave you a longer review on your post :)

Nikkiiiiii~~~~~
I did the thiiing!
but dtube won't let me change the first taaaag sob
I'm sorryyyyy~~~~~ !!!
here's my doggo
Zeroooc_Doggo_smll.jpg
and the link to the post
https://steemit.com/dtube/@jillustrations/6j7kuqka
much luuurve! ♥
.... god I need sleep wie einen Bissen Brot.

LUV IT! Cutiepie!!!

i love it, such an appealing style! i've been looking into a mobile drawing tablet and am stuck between samsung note and the ipad 2....this doesn't make my decision any easier hahaha

haha aw damn. yeah it's tough to decide. especially since none of these things are exactly cheap. But the thing that tipped it for me were the reviews I watched on youtube from professional artists. I recommend you do the same! might help you decide! :)

And thank you for the compliment ♡

all the best :)

Thank you for a new idea and a great challenge @ZeroOoC!!! I finally woke up after holidays)
https://steemit.com/imaginarycreatures/@labeilleneigeux/sketch-off-contest-by-zeroooc-imaginarycreatures-and-yearofthedog
wave3sm.jpg

Fantastic contribution @labeilleneigeux!
Gonna leave you a more in-depth review on your post :)

A lot of movement in this one!

omg)) thank you) да чо уж там...

UH OH I can relate to this one! I am an earth dog! Yeah 1958!

Thank you @zeroooc for your great initiative! Impressive way to contribute to Steemit community! I'm keeping my fingers crossed and can't wait to see the entries! Good luck to all the participants! Here you can check out my dog: https://steemit.com/imaginarycreatures/@shinyforest/doggy-artwork-for-the-imaginary-creatures-contest-by-zeroooc

1.jpg

Can't wait to see your entries, guys!

Much love,
Klaudia

Really terrierific!
Thanks for the support and good luck on all yer ventures.

💜 Klaudia! Keep going! You got massive talent! @shinyforest! I wish to see more from you

This is very cool contest! I am in!

Woop! Happy to have someone of your calibre on board! Happy Sketching!

Thank you for your nice word. It will be hard to choose in what technique i want to draw The Dog:) I love Charcoal but sharpies have nice touch too. Charcoal gives more character to the subject and sharpies allow you to have more details. Any way I need to make the sketch first :) I

I can't wait to see your entry ^_^

yas, yas, yaaaaas! nice-oh! here we go! Let's do this :D

wipes down drawing board

Good Luck!

btw, how did you get those lovely little pencils into your post title? O_O those be nice and me wants to steal zem for future posts mayhaps...? XD

With Unicode (and unicode is free!)
https://unicode-table.com/en/
(just copy pasta the ones you like)

On a related note (read: shameless plug) we actually got to produce a video on the topic back at TedXVienna!


Decode unicode - the world's writing systems: Johannes Bergerhausen at TEDxVienna

Alrighty mighty horde, let's take stock halfway through the competition!

So far in the #ImaginaryCreatures & #YearoftheDog Sketch-Off we've had an influx of these 5 Doggos from your respective realms! Apart from that we've gathered 45 votes, 52 comments and 204 views. Sweet!

The following pencil jockeys have entered at this stage
(in alphabetical order):

@godo
@jillustrations
@shinyforest
@shlomit
@labeilleneigeux

At the moment 5 of 10 spots are taken for a guaranteed payout. Should empty spots remain at the end of the contest the remaining SBD will be split up evenly between all contestants. Furthermore I'll delegate 0.5SP to all contestants for at least two weeks :)

Thanks to all of you for the truly wicked contributions, comments, resteems and discussion so far! Good Luck to all of you and hope to see a couple more entries soon :)

I'm seeing some seriously WONDERFUL dog entries here! I'm excited! Thank you for organising this contest :)

As most people usually take their time and apply at the last days, I guess we have a lot more cool sketches to look forward to ^_^

Ohh that's rather unique looking! Thanks for your contribution, it is most certainly valid! I'm going to leave you a longer reply on your page! Good stuff :)

this is so sad and beautiful at the same time. A lovely illustration. makes me want to hug my dog :<

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55