You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Block 23847548, the Block Which Will Live in Infamy

in #imfamy6 years ago

What bugs me is that so many people spoke about a video for weeks on end, that obviously wasn't considered to be "tasteful" or "funny" yet my gut feeling says that this one shall fly over in a less than a week.

I'm no fan of the author of that video, he and I have only exchanged a few words to date, not enough for me to say anything for not against him the person. But seriously, when I see the lack of LOGIC in the "complaining" and the "jump on the bandwagon" approach, it does upset me.

This here is more important than any "video" made by anyone to date, yet like I said, I can see it "gone with the wind".

Sort:  

I think I know which video you're referring to, a filthy comedy skit by a well known Steemit witness. Yes, that silly video caused a buzz for weeks. This is a serious event and it will be forgotten in a few days. Gone with the wind. Maybe it's for the best, since we don't want people to loose confidence in the blockchain over a simple bug like this. Better to fix it now, before it goes main-stream. I'd rather Steemit be known for a stupid video than being known for being down for hours. @ironshield

Not the point, in fact, after a deliberate malicious attack by someone who obviously knows our code all too well and the EOS code all too well and which caused a temporary "freeze" was taken care of in a matter of no time.

Actions necessary to ensure the top20 were all made available and ready to take the necessary actions were done in record speed.

So this isn't a "bad PR" thing, in fact it shows how our ecosystem and governance model can work when put to the test in such drastic situations.

However, the fact of the matter is, that it was an inside job, no doubt about it. A fellow Steemian did it and this needs to be addressed and actions taken.

it was an inside job, no doubt about it.

Question is, was it an inside job by accident, or inside job with intentions of causing damage. A disgruntled Steemian? Or a "Let's see what happens if I power down negative one trillion... oops" @ironshield

"Block 23847548 was an inside job." Hmm... maybe another post coming.

Either way, it was an inside job, done by a registered Steemian.

Take into consideration that this scenario was/is incorporated into the EOS code.

Life has taught me:

"Coincidences are most often NOT COINCIDENTAL"

;)

many will reference back to it though in future days. at least i know i probably will

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89