Went to India - Taught them High 5's

in #india6 years ago (edited)

As a human being, but specifically as a Westerner, it's difficult to spend any amount of time in India and not be moved or changed in some way. I came back super enlightened (of course) and feeling like everything in America costs too much.

Of the many things that are emblazoned in my mind from that trip, I'll remember talking to these 2 women in Goa perhaps the most. They told me they bused and walked 2 hours everyday to set-up shop on the beaches of Goa to sell clothes and linens and chachki's, so that they could provide for their children that they could barely feed.

IMG_0225.JPG

I felt heartbroken listening to their story. It was the story of a choiceless life - their marriages were arranged, and their fates sealed because they happened to be women in this place and time. They asked about America....I told them about how it was great in some ways, but that are more assholes and that people were lonelier. Much lonelier. This concept was hard for them to grasp.

Feeling like the conversation had turned too serious, I then decided to teach them to high "5". We all awkwardly swatted hands as the sun came down that day. I'm not saying I started "high 5's" in India, but I'm not saying I didn't either.

Truly,
bobbybiggs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69412.19
ETH 3670.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25