Commonly Used Cryptocurrency Exchanges By Steemit Users From India

in #india6 years ago

Many new users are usually unaware of the fact at the time of signing up on the steem blockchain you need to use cryptocurrency exchanges to cash out any earnings and purchase STEEM to power up your stake.

If you are in India then you need to consider your choices carefully for buying and selling STEEM/SBD. I'll tell you how I've been doing it until now. But now that most of our options have close for direct deposit and withdrawals, P2P mechanisms are our only way.


Source

Selling STEEM for INR

  1. You can use a free unverified account on Binance.com w/limit of 2 BTC/24 hrs to sell your STEEM for Bitcoin or use Bittrex and verify yourself to do just the same.
  2. Open an account on any of the exchanges from India. Send your BTC there and sell it for INR and withdraw it to your bank account.

In the past I used Coinome and Coinsecure before that because their buy/sell spreads were reasonably close and selling price better than most others.

Coinsecure however suspended trading after their theft situation and I dropped them a few weeks before this happened. Coinome in the past was my numero uno choice for selling Bitcoin for INR.

They had the fast withdrawals, low fees and their system worked great for me overall. Unfortunately they haven't announced any P2P mechanism yet after suspending deposits/withdrawals.

Selling SBD for INR

  1. You can use the internal market to sell SBD for STEEM and sell it for Bitcoin on Binance if you don't have a verified account on Bittrex.
  2. If you have a bittrex account with verification completed and limits raised you can sell it here for BTC and then move that Bitcoin to an Indian exchange or P2P seller and get your INR.

Purchasing STEEM for INR

  1. Buy Bitcoin with rupees and then purchase STEEM on Binance or Bittrex using Bitcoin and transfer it your account on Steemit.

Tip

There are other quick exchangers such as blocktrades however you will find that their fees are very high for quick conversions here. It worth taking a few minutes to learn to use a proper exchange instead of a quick exchange service that charges a lot of fee for small trades.

What about the RBI ban?

  1. You can use cryptocurrency exchanges that provide peer to peer trading such as Instashift.io, Koinex, WazirX, Giottus, CoinDelta, Localbitcoins etc.
  2. You can also use exchanges after completing KYC. A couple of Indian exchanges such as Unocoin, Coindelta etc seem to have their withdrawals working for a few more days. After that you go back to point 1.

Which Indian cryptocurrency exchange do you use the most?

I've been holding on to my BTC in expectation of change in the price of the token in India. Now that 20th July is past us it's clear that P2P is the way forward and prices are likely to stabilize in these channels which will make it easier to deposit/withdraw.

So far I haven't found one single exchange such as Coinome to do any regular conversions to INR just yet. I'll let you know when I do.

Secure your Steemit account

I want to mention my guide for securing your Steemit wallet passwords. You can learn to generate all the keys and secure your account by reading this post.

Share your experience

I'd love to know more about the exchanges you are currently using if you are from India, before and after the ban from RBI. Which is your favourite and why?


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Let's Watch This Fun Video From International Steem Meetup #1—Malaysia
  2. Why You Should Vote For @firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  3. PSA—This Is What RBI's Ban Does To Your Cryptocurrency If You Are From India!

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

I have recently completed a “p2p” transaction on giottus.com. It was easy and I bought bitcoin as min as ₹100 for the test. I didn’t face any issue and the btc rates were also lower than the international prices.

I think, p2p online trading is going to be the future of crypto trading in India with complete fraud protection in place. I will be sharing the complete experience in a post real soon.

Link me up when you post about it. :)

Will surely do :)

@firepower Thankyou so much for this informative article. Surely it will help the indian users. I use Bittrex and Binnance for holding my crypto. For P2P transaction I would prefer WazirX.

I mostly use unodax to bittrex to steemit route. However transferring bitcoin really costs a bomb. Ripple or LTC seem more economical for these tasks. I just wish there was a p2p escrow service that directly transfers steem to steemit wallet in exchange of INR. How nice would that day be.

Thanks for this information sir. I have made up my mind to go with WazirX (P2P).

You are so lucky that you dropped coinsecure before hacking/theft..
And I think Steem will be soon on Indian exchange.
Koinex, Bitbns, WazirX are doing good to add more and more top coins on their platform.

If I remember correctly I had a couple of delayed withdrawals and that put me off and hence I looked into other exchanges and managed to switch over.

Also checked your other articles.. All very informative and really impressive..

Posted using Partiko Android

New here.. And this article is extremely helpful.. This came on perfect timing.. Was just looking for my options on Google... Thank you 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

very welcome. :)

pla vote me thank you sir

Hello my dear this is a humble and special gift for you hope you accept it and like it. https://steemit.com/@soufianechakrouf/a-portrait-for-firepower

Mantap that cakahe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67