Rescue Monday: Snake

in #india5 years ago (edited)

So this happened at my house at noon today. A baby non-poisonous ‘Rat snake’ got itself stuck inside the compressor of one of our air-conditioning units at my house. It was slightly injured from the fan blades which it must’ve made contact with when the AC was turned on in the morning.

WhatsApp Image 2019-03-04 at 4.37.15 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2019-03-04 at 4.39.31 PM.jpeg

My mom @geethrao heard a loud tapping sound and immediately turned it off. Luckily preventing further harm to the snake. However it has had suffered a nasty slash nonetheless as it's still a baby (maybe about 3 months). But I doubt many snakes or humans can make a direct contact with a fast spinning compressor fan and not get injured.

WhatsApp Image 2019-03-04 at 5.26.36 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2019-03-04 at 5.26.36 PM (1).jpeg

I called a couple of my friends including @varunpinto who gave his friend's contact. Tauseef who I was acquainted with from a past fundraising event for Animal Care Trust, Mangalore is a businessman but volunteers part time for animal rescues came over within in minutes after our chat and helped in rescuing the snake.

He's taking it to the vet and we're hopeful that it can recover. From a close initial look it seemed as though the spine is intact even as it was bleeding. There was some delay in getting the technicians to come over and open up the compressor unit for inspection and therefore I think it might make it as it hadn't bled to death already.

WhatsApp Image 2019-03-04 at 5.46.24 PM.jpeg

Notice the slash within circle above? I couldn't get a better shot. But it's deep.

It was so scared and not at all aggressive when Tauseef picked it up. We placed it into the bag and he took it away. Now I'm just awaiting updates on the way forward. Fingers crossed for it's recovery.

India is a tropical country and growing up I've seen all kinds of snakes in my neighbourhood as it's got a lot of green cover. I've been bitten by a bigger snake same type as this baby once when I was a kid. We also had a Python swallow one of our cats and a Cobra or Rat snake mistakenly entered our house once but my folks managed to get it out eventually.

They used to be a very common sight in my younger years but that's changed drastically. These days we have to be lucky to see a handful in a year if at all. They habitats are largely destroyed by ever increasing human population.

If you see a snake where it's not supposed to be, then please call a professional snake catcher. Don't kill it! Ok?


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  2. Steem.Chat Contest #68

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

If you see a snake where it's not supposed to be, then please call a professional snake catcher. Don't kill it! Ok?

I keep telling people this all the time. I haven't yet understood why people scare snakes and secondly why are they killing them!

Yeah i know right! People tend to get hyper and do something stupid.

My friend would love reading this. He loves snakes and hates to see when even the poisonous ones get killed. He does a lot in the herpetology field volunteering his time educating anyone that will listen the benefits of snakes.

Oh wow. Please feel free to share this with him. :) Thank you.

Such a noble deed on such an auspicious day as Maha Shivratri. :)

Didn't realise that. Wow! :D

This is something unique on Mahashivratri but the wounds of the snake is seems lethal for him. May the Lord Shiva save him.

Ooh snake looks dangerous actually.

¿The snake is ok?

I hate seeing snakes, it looks so dangerous even in pictures.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, today is Maha Sivaratri so lord Siva may came to you to give you darsana .Really you had done a great job by rescuing this snake.Wish you a very happy Sivaratri .

You got a 78.41% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @firepower! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 50 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Really interesting @firepower. I have had similar incidents in my house as well. Like you, I also have few friends contacts who are snake catchers. When it happened twice in my house, I called these guys and they will catch it and drop it in a nearby forest.

I say the same thing to my family as well as friends. When they see a snake their first intention is to kill it. They don't understand the fact that it lost its way like how we do when we are traveling.

My mom and grandfather are not actually very cooperative. They immediately look for a stick to kill it when they see. That's why I always wish that I'm in my house when there is a snake or something. If I'm there I would call my friends and rescue it. If I'm not there in the house the snake will be unlucky and be killed.

We have also had instances where even birds came inside our house by mistake.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00