Jamun - An Indian Summer Fruit

in #indiansummer6 years ago (edited)

Black plum.png

Jamun or Black plum is summer fruit in India , not only it tastes good but also has many health and medicinal benefits. It looks somewhat like black grapes , but it tastes entirely different.

I wanted to share some of the benefits of one of my favourite fruits with you guys.

The black plum is known to relieve stomach pain, it is also good for curing various digestive disorders. The leaves of this fruit is said to have antibacterial properties and relives throat . One of the best medicinal benefit of black plum is converting sugar into energy and thus being beneficial for diabetes patients. It also has adequate quantity of iron and vitamin c so also good for increasing hemoglobin count.

I have grown to have to this fruit in abundance in summer in India, since we had a black Plum or jamun tree in our backyard, and me and my sister used to sacrifice our sweet afternoon nap after lunch to stop kids from stealing one of our favorite fruit. It tastes great with a pinch of black salt. I have not seen it much in USA though , but we do get the packaged jamun or black plum juices in some of the Indian grocery stores.

Please upvote comment and share if you like my post :)

Sort:  

Yeah I like em too. Infact what a co incidence we do have a black plum tree in our lawn too. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62668.08
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58