Gamelan Dewi Malam

in #indonesia5 years ago

Around 1.5 year ago I was feeling like I need to create new patterns in my life, and that's when I ended up doing something that I would never expect before - I joined the gamelan band!;) I started breaking my routine of being a night owl, and once a week I would get up unusually early for our weekly practice, learning traditional music from Bali. At first, it was so difficult to get used to playing it, but with time I was getting more and more hooked and inspired by it. I loved the way I felt each time after 2 hours of rehearsing, becoming more harmonized being. This is the exact medicine that I needed in my life at this time! It became a great tool to focus my mind, and for creating new pathways in my brain. It is challenging me in very good ways. Here you have no choice but practicing being present, and deeply listening. The goal is to move beyond your thinking, into the states of trance, so the music is playing you. It is a great meditation practice and we are blessed with a great teacher.
This is a photo from our very recent performance at the Galactic Center venue:

47230837_294009754564047_9156619354492633088_o-2.jpg

Here is a little taste of how we sound like:
https://www.instagram.com/p/Bq39_FrDaJ7/
Athough it's one of the slower tracks! It get's way faster!
We are all playing different instruments and different interlocking parts coming into one, and I am playing pemade. It is all about overtone music, the music that is not being played.

IMG_4810.jpg

IMG_4809.jpg

The name of our group is Gamelan Dewi Malam, what translates into: Gamelan of the Queen of the Night. The group plays the traditional bronze 4-tone angklung orchestra often used in Balinese temple music and for important life ceremonies, as well as the processional beleganjur instruments used for ceremonial processions.

IMG_4806.jpg

Coming from the traditions of the island of Bali, Balinese gamelan is steeped in ritual and symbolism, from the offerings of holy water and incense at every performance to the duality of interlocking parts that characterize gamelan music, and the gongs that symbolize death and rebirth. The Balinese consider the instruments sacred and feel that they exude a power of their own even resting on stage before a performance. Balinese gamelan has a huge range of styles, from complex and delicate "sitting pieces" to loud, fiery dance accompaniment.

The land of Bali is calling my heart, it feels like for many years. Looking forward to going there someday!

Sort:  

If you are interested, there is a classical music (also supporting jazz and folk) community at the tag #classical-music and the discord below! Hope to see you there!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

What a wonderful meditation that must be! You must go to Bali.

This is super interesting to me. The music is very interesting, I can see how playing it would be a meditative experience. Relatively limited tonally but somehow very compelling. Thanks for sharing the video

You are welcome! and yes;)! I would never expect that playing only 4 notes sometimes could get so complex!;p there are some pieces that I am still always messing up, it gets really fast.. also besides playing a note you have to dampen it at the same time when you are playing the next one


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15