Reality Check—Want To Be An Influencer? Remember This First.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #influencer6 years ago (edited)

I’m trying to be an influential presence on Instagram. However, the way I’m going about it is stupid.

To be an influencer you have to have a niche, something you’re passionate about that you really want to share. Last night I realized that I’ve forgotten what is truly important to me and have only been focusing on the “fame and fortune” aspect of it all.

It reminds me of when my ex boyfriend said,
“I want to be an activist.”
“An activist for what?” I would ask him.
“I dunno yet. I just want to be an activist.”

See the absurdity of this? But I realize that I am doing the same thing. “I want to be famous on Instagram.” For what? “I dunno yet. I just want to be famous.”

Below is what brought me to this realization. Two hours went into trying to capture a tarot reading.

8B976AA5-964D-4612-A095-311B77AFBBF9.jpeg

DA5C56EE-B15C-444A-97BA-3EE78EC46CF5.jpeg

349A5C93-6F42-4428-BC02-B0962F9BA3A8.jpeg

177BF1E0-F207-4799-84FB-8A69968DF083.jpeg

I won’t fill this page with the 20 more pictures I took. More effort went into the picture than into the reading...I even decided the orange background color of the cards looked weird. So I moved onto my “Cat Wisdom” deck which isn’t even really a tarot deck. I simply thought it would be more aesthetically pleasing.

20ACE003-D929-4A55-96AC-3552F364FE4F.jpeg

014C1C25-C295-4145-9FC3-11E384260A55.jpeg

B93D626E-FEAE-4378-A547-A0CACADA0279.jpeg

I want to make a real difference in people’s lives with my content but I focused SO HARD on the picture looking perfect that the content itself ended up feeling empty and meaningless.

I have to remember why I started sharing on Instagram and YouTube in the first place. I wanted to help people get through tough times that I have had to go through myself by sharing my experience and what has worked for me.

Somewhere along the way, I forgot what my mission was all about.

You can’t be an influencer if your only goal is to be an influencer.

This was the final product:

1E6217E4-CBA0-495B-881A-5C2FDA592937.jpeg

You can read the rest of it on Instagram: @dailyjoyproject

Now I must remember my true goal, and that is TO influence - not BE an influencer.

Sort:  

It's the millennial/'gen y' dilemma. We've grown up in this superficial consumerism, so we are deeply en-trained into trying to be popular and get attention (like it was a top value or something). Yet due to the world we have inherited it's up to us to have a backbone and some integrity - to be the vehicles of social and economic change. So yeah, balancing and integrating both is the goal of the 'woke' content creator.

Personally I always go with honesty / integrity, yet I am aware that I need to 'sell it' a bit more to get that mass appeal. So you know, I think you're doing pretty good with an awareness of how to get more views, it's one piece of the puzzle at least 😆

Also, sweet deck

I really can relate to this, it's frustrating to just focus on getting more follower and create content that please a large crowd. Sometimes we forget where we are coming from and why we originally started to create content. I think if we stay true to ourselves and keep giving our best we will succeed one day :-)

@themodernwitch, enjoy the vote!

Have you claimed your FREE Byteballs yet? Check out this post on how you can get $10-80 just for having a Steem account: https://steemit.com/steem/@berniesanders/get-free-byteballs-today-just-for-having-a-steem-account-usd10-80-in-free-coins

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61