Information Finding Championship - S1:Rnd20

in #informationfinding6 years ago

The Rules:
Show an image of a "power spot" that is beautiful, cool, interesting, or just a powerful place for you.

First of all, I'm going to cheat a little (apologies to @apolymask). I have way too much work to do and no means to actually travel to my "power spot", so I'll have to used archived images.

Second, I'm going to stretch the challenge a bit because I have two "power spots". I'll explain below.

Generally speaking, my power spot has forever been a warm, sunny beach complete with white sands, comfortable and clean blue-aqua waters, and that wonderful salty sea-breeze. You might make the argument that I am a Leo born under an Aquarius moon (Sun sign, born into a water sign), but I don't really place a lot of value in such things (as I once did). You might think that my ancestors were sea-faring types, or pirates, or whatnot, but you would be wrong - my family has historically been farmers and soldiers for generations upon generations, not to mention my dominant heritage lines are German and Irish. Salt of the Earth, perhaps, but not Salty Dogs. Land lovers through and through. I am an anomaly in my family. In fact, my father gets motion sickness terribly and detests the open water. So why the white sands of a beach basking in the sun and salty waters?

I honestly do not know, but ever since the very first time I saw the ocean I was in love with it. I love the feel of sand between my toes. I love the feel of the sun shining down upon me. I even love the pop-up thunderstorms that tend to sporadically roll in off the sea. I visited Daytona, FL a few times as a young man, and preferred time staring at the waters to the typical Spring Break parties. I scraped together enough to go on a cruise to the Bahamas as a college graduation present to myself, and loved it so much I wanted to stay on Giligan's Island (no seriously, we went there and learned to snorkel on the reef). One of my earliest heroes, Jim Davis (creator of Garfield), had to deny my request for a weekend visit to his farm in Indiana because he was away in Hawaii writing Garfield 16 (I think). I remember that made a huge impact upon my young mind. Perhaps I subconsciously identify beaches like that with success? Who knows. All I know is that there is nothing so energizing and exciting to me on this Earth than a beautiful, natural beach with white sands and clear waters.

This brings me to my second "power spot". You can see in the image that I am not alone. That is my lovely wife, Lieschen, and I on a remote beach in Puerto Rico. We were there a few years ago visiting her family and attending her parent's renewal of their vows. The island of Puerto Rico is so beautiful! I would love to go back soon, and I am continuously saddened in how America continues to treat it and it's people.

You can't tell here, but it was actually winter time there, and though it was not really "cold", it was not warm either. So that trip was less-than ideal for beach visiting (even though we tried). But it didn't matter to me, because ever since meeting her, Lieschen has been my main "power spot". She is why I do what I do, my reason to be the best me I can be, and my most enthusiastic cheer leader. She always has my back, she is never afraid to tell me when I'm wrong, and she is the best friend I've ever had. I don't care where we go in this world, or any other, as long as she is by my side. She gives me strength that I never had before her.

I think someday I should do an experiment and take her to an ideal beach locale at an ideal time of year just to see what happens. lol.

My #steemgig posting: https://steemit.com/steemgigs/@har5h/create-professional-illustrations-andor-graphic-designs-for-you

Follow my Patreon and become a Patron to see some of these projects come together!

Sort:  

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts, reply with STOP.

Thank you so much, @discoversteem!

I LOVE the ocean. As like you, the ocean scene calls to me. There is something absolutely magical and peaceful just being there. Feeling the ocean breeze, tasting that salty tang in the air and sand underneath my feet. The ocean is my inner peace and having someone special to share the moment is magical in my eyes. Your photos are beautiful. I hope you are able to return and enjoy many more magical moments there with your wife.

Thank you very much, @beeyou!
May you also enjoy many wonderful views of the ocean!

You as well @har5h! May we both be able to enjoy many beautiful views and memories on those shores with our loved ones. 🙂

Very awesome. I'd love to go to puerto rico. One of my best friends growing up his parents were from there and always had awesome pictures from back home. I'd love to go visit there one day.

White sand, crystal clear waters, and warm weather you can't beat that. My goal in life is still to find a nice little city next to the ocean that I can work from home and enjoy being outside whenever I wish!

It's a beautiful island. Driving can be hazardous though, so I highly recommend a local connection if you have one. Hopefully they will soon get things back to normal down there.
And yes, to the dream beach house. Best to you on that!

Cool good to know, how about renting scooters/ mopeds? Is that quite normal there or not so much?

Thank you for sharing your beautiful perspective of the ocean.

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day!

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Thank you, @newbiersteemday!
I look forward to connecting to you again soon!

I really liked your entry even though you didn't technically follow the rules in regards to the IFC tag, and.. You're not the only one! Heh.. So it's cool. No worries. I have no issue with it. I love the ocean as well! I need to go back and visit. It's been a while. Also I like what you wrote about your significant other. That's awesome. :) I hope you get to take her to some beautiful beach and have a great time when it works out!

Thanks, @apolymask! I appreciate it.
But wait, I just realized I had not been posting my entries on the challenge posts, but what IFC tag am I missing? I want to at least try to do things right.

I don't think judges have voted for any of those rounds yet, so you probably didn't miss any votes! Also.. The tag we use is #informationfinding

If you have any more questions please don't hesitate to ask. I'm happy to help you understand how it all works.

Ok...that's the first tag I've been putting on every entry, including this one. What am I doing wrong? I'm confused now.

I dunno what you're doing wrong? Other than it seemed like you forgot to put the entries into the official round threads, but I'm pretty sure you just took care of that a few mins ago didn't you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81