Information Finding Championship - S1:Rnd23

in #informationfinding6 years ago

The Rules:
Write a story that includes the following items/words: beach ball, book, chair, clock, fall, forest, grass, juice, spaceship, universe.

Jonathon stepped through the wavering portal. That familiar tingling sensation pulsed through his body once his boot struck the lush, green grass of the glade he now stood within. The shimmering of the portal behind him suddenly winked out as it powered off. He barely noticed. He stood surrounded by what appeared to be a clearing encircled by a forest of trees and undergrowth. It was a stark contrast to the red deserts of Y'thulsda, but it was a terrain he was comfortable navigating. At least he hoped it was. The thought crossed his mind he may not know these lands like he did the woodlands back home on Earth. He frowned at the thought like he had a thousand times before whenever it came into his mind. Home. All he wanted to do was to get home. He did not care if it was a portal or a spaceship or some other means. As long as it worked.


On Y'thulsda, Hrorthaak had told him he was a Porter; a Gatekeeper, Guardian, Traveler, and Seeker. It called him the Porter of Terrason, but how could he be that if he was not home on Earth? His time on Y'thulsda was fantastic and informative. It was a relief to know he was part of something larger. That all of this had happened for a reason and there was, after all, definitely some order to the universe. He instinctively brought a hand down to rest upon the old, but sturdy, military medic's shoulder bag, which held his copy of the Keeper's Bible. It was the book that had gotten him into this mess to begin with, but also the one thing that has kept him alive more than any of the gear or weapons he has collected on all the different worlds he has visited.


He looked around the clearing more carefully. No pedestal. No dais. No other portals. Great. His frown deepened. He pulled his pocket watch from his jacket knowing the clock would not be accurate to this world. He still checked it. It made him feel more in control and grounded to the reality he knew best. He allowed himself a single exhaled sigh of dismay before looking up. There were stars and three moons. Perhaps this world is inhabited, he thought. It likely is. Most of them are, he assured himself.


He had walked through the thick forest undergrowth for less than a mile before he heard it. There was a horrendous roar that sounded like the terrible combination of a lion, a bear, and perhaps the bleat of a goat or similar animal. It was loud, and not too far away. Jonathon crouched down behind a thicket and waited. The creature, whatever it was, stomped through the brush like a bulldozer. It was heavy and lumbersome, and it's feet seemed to pulp the vegetation to juice with every foot fall. After what seemed an eternity, he finally saw the beast. It was massive. It stood at least thirty feet high, and was nearly twice as long. It's two tree trunk-like legs were scaled and well-muscled; they looked designed to sprint and leap, but they were oddly bird-like as well. Jonathon was too frightened to move a muscle, but his thoughts were a whirlwind of chaos. Seriously? A dinosaur? Where am I? When am I? Did that portal take me back in time?


Just as the thoughts became too much for him to corral, Jonathon saw a small herd of half a dozen smaller creatures dart by not too far from where he was hiding. They were no taller than knee-high, and had a roughly beach ball with legs shape. They were fast runners, but their most amazing feature was their toothy maws that made up nearly half their forward-facing body. Their stubby little tails seemed useless, they had only the two legs, and their eyes were fixed at a naturally cruel angle that made them look menacing even when running for their lives.


The larger creature caught sight of the smaller creatures fleeing, and gave pursuit. The ground shook so violently that it put Jonathon on the ground as the larger theropod-like creature stomped past. He sat there, shivering with fear, gripping his trusty blaster with practiced white-knuckled bravado, and tried to breath without sobbing or passing out. The overwhelming desire for a safe, warm place, a comfortable chair by a well-stoked fire perhaps, rushed over him. He choked back the emotions, forced himself to stifle the tears, and picked himself up. No, he thought. I know what this is, and I won't give in to it. Hrorthaak had explained that much to him, at least. The universe was vast, and within it were many forces, but the most active and dominant were the constantly rebellious raging against the peace and order of The Creator. They attacked beings like Jonathon in many different ways with the sole goal of separating them from The Creator. He calmed himself, and his hand fell to his book once again. No, he thought. Not this time. I've got too much to do yet.


My #steemgig posting: https://steemit.com/steemgigs/@har5h/create-professional-illustrations-andor-graphic-designs-for-you

Follow my Patreon and become a Patron to see some of these projects come together!

Sort:  

Excellent writing! I agree with bashadow I was totally captivated, you're a super talented writer on top of being a super talented illustrator/drawer I see. Plus you got the poetry as well.. You're quite the interesting individual! Glad to have you as a part of this digital world. :) And.. Thanks for the awesome entry!

Thank you so much, @apolymask! I only hope I can make use of my gifts properly. It's been an interesting road so far. lol.

You're welcome! And I feel similar sometimes. So I can definitely relate. It's a strange and crazy ride and I also hope I can utilize my understandings as well in time!

So.. Originally I had voted for amariespeaks as did uhh.. Almost every other judge, but we just found out that she wasn't eligible to enter that catch up round seeing as she had already won a round and catch up rounds are only for those who haven't won a round yet.

Your entry was a close second and now since I can't vote for her.. I'm voting for you. Sorry it's a "second best" vote, but.. It is what it is! I think your story was great, very well written and immersive and I vibed with it the most next to amariespeaks story about the IFC world. Great story! I vote for you this round.

It's greatly appreciated, @apolymask, and no slight inferred at all. I'm a novice writer, at best. Still much to learn on that front! And like you say, my story (nay, probably most all my content) is not set directly in the IFC world, so no worries there either. Thank you very much!

Har5h, good job on the story was really appealing to me. I vote you for this round.

Ah! So sorry I missed this post. Thank you very much, @addempsea! I'm glad you liked it. :)

what a cool story! I like your style of writing. I hope you're posting more to this? lol I would read more, it's a very curious short story. Great work @har5h and good luck this round!

Thank you so much, @amariespeaks! I'm not sure if I'll be posting more or not - at least in the near future. I think I might, but this story has been sitting idle for a while now, and I've decided to take the plunge to write a trilogy of novels around Johnathon and his adventures. We'll see how that goes! lol.

oh awesome! hope to read it one day, good luck! :)

Great work har5h you have my vote on this one

Thank you very much, @xomegax!

Wow what an awesome story, I was completely captivated.

Thanks, @bashadow! I'm glad you liked it. :)

Very creative writing @har5h! Your artwork is amazing. I hope to read more of Johnathon's adventure in the future! Great job! Good Luck!

Thank you very much, @ifc!
Jonathons story will be a novel that connects much of the Harsh Realities universe. I’m still building the framework, but I expect to have it published by 2020. I’m sure there will be more sneak peaks before then though.

Great story! I have a feeling there are many more adventures for Jonathon to come! Can't wait to read them in the Story House, as long as Miss @charisma777 isn't reading all of them to the kids!

Thank you, @iexplore! Definitely much more in store for Jonathon's adventures.

What a great adventure story you have! I really enjoyed your writing. I know for sure some great adventures await Jonathon! You have my vote for this round!

This is going to be a great collection to the Story House! I can imagine Miss @charisma777 reading this to all the children of Cryptopia!

Hey! Thanks, @iexplore! I really appreciate that. Yeah, I've decided to spin Johnathon's adventures into a novel trilogy. Working on book one right now! Pretty exciting! :)

aaah really cool, @har5h !! the story's interesting and the piccar is very nicely detailed and well coloured <3 very good post * ___ *

upvotes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66991.04
ETH 3101.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74