You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who took the anti-establishment out of pop music?

First of all I have to mention that I was born after many of these songs were released, so you might feel that I have nothing to say about them BUT the only one from the collection that I didn't know was the Agent Orange (which was of course released MANY years after I was born).

It was so good to learn about why these songs were made. I'm coming from Slovakia and English is not our mother tongue so these songs were not banned. I remember listening to them very often as my parents liked this kind of music. I am certain they had no idea what the lyrics were about though. When they were kids (long before 1989) there was of course no English at school so they didn't and still don't speak English. They simply liked the music (we could listen to it after 1989)

I actually remember singing Save Nelson Mandela (of course just these three words), not knowing who he was at that time :D It is a very catchy song. I'm surprised to hear about motivation behind Relax and Do they know it's Christmas. It was really just songs for us, no deeper meaning. Finally I know after so many years :)

Thank you for sharing! It's be a real pleasure to read and listen to these cool old songs.

Sort:  

Thanks @delishtreats! Glad you enjoyed my trip down memory lane with a difference! It's so interesting to hear how you and your parents enjoyed these songs without always understanding the words - although maybe your subconscious minds grasped a little bit of their meaning :)

I'm not that sure about that :D But now when I learn meaning behind those lyrics, it all makes sense so you might be right :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48