Freedoming like a boss

in #informationwar5 years ago

We live in a world where the concepts freedom and freedom of speech and expression get thrown about fairly often. Everyone wants to do what they want to do, have what they want to have and, especially with the younger generation, taking instruction isn't something people tend to do very well. And yet...

...We largely live in a cookie-cutter society where one follows the other, too programmed or afraid to break out and have an individual thought or action. Society is lead by the collar by marketers, governments and corporations into spending habits that often exceed their means, and into behaviours designed around a consumerist ethos. Society are slaves - Willing slaves.

An example may be the billion-dollar mobile phone industry...Or should I say mobile camera industry as that's what mobile phones are pitched as these days. A phone company says there's a new one coming and everyone suddenly wants a new phone so badly so they're not stuck with the old one (often only 12 months old) and ostracised by society for having it. It's a simple formula; They say. People do...But not all people.

Last week I wrote a post about a method, and products, I use to perform a particular task - Cleaning spent brass ammunition cases for reloading. One of my steem-friends, also a shooter, commented and questioned the method and products I used. The user, the esteemed @ksteem, was keen to get a greater understanding about it all with the view to possibly using the same method for himself. We talked about it a little and I gave him my opinion, based on first-hand experience, and I found myself extolling my way and being not so keen on his proposed way which, as it turns out, I have already tried and discarded as not for me. src

You can find my original post here.

Today ksteem wrote a blog about how, after consultation with me and some further thought based around his needs and requirements, went in exactly the opposite direction to what I suggested he go - And you know what? I dig it! Good on you man! You can see the @ksteem post here.

I'm not going to talk about the actual cleaning process here but his decision to go that way sort of made me feel good and I wanted to say so - Society doesn't seem to have a lot of individual thought and I was pleased to see it deployed.

You see, what is right for one may not be right for the other and having the ability to determine the right of a thing for oneself is something I believe many cannot do these days, or will not - They simply go along with the flock afraid to be seen apart from it. Whilst there maybe some comfort in that, it doesn't always mean that the flock, lets' call them sheeple, are on the right path - Certainly when you're concerned...Or me, or ksteem for that matter. We all have different needs, expectations and requirements right? You'd think so anyway.

Have people lost the ability for individual thought based on their own needs? I don't know. I certainly believe that many simply play along with the popular purchase, mindset or decision for social reasons - Fear of not fitting in, of being ridiculed or singled out. It's sort of pathetic really. Pathetic that many, many people have attached their feeling of self worth or value to material things and decisions that flow in the socially-acceptable direction rather than think for themselves.

An example may be someone who voted for a head of state but is afraid to announce it as general [media] consensus is that that head of state is bad. Or maybe a person who does not believe in there being more than two genders but who plays along anyway for fear of reprisal from those who do...Individual thought seems to be something of a dinosaur these days, or certainly becoming a dinosaur along with freedom of speech and expression. [And manners, courtesy, generosity, ownership and responsibility.]

I applaud ksteem for determining what he feels to be the right course of action for him based on him and not on my needs and thoughts, influences or opinions. He listened to me of course, even agreed, however he went away weighed, measured and balanced it out against what I'd said and our discussions and then went his way.

Good freedoming bro!

I hope the method and equipment he selected works to his requirements and standards...It didn't for me which is why my sonic cleaner sits in my workshop unused except for when my wife's jewellery and a few assorted gun parts need a clean. I ended up buying twice, the sonic-rig then the eventual set up I use now as outlined in the post above. Like ksteem I made a decision based on me and my needs.

Freedom of speech and expression or simply "freedom" isn't just a catch-phrase. For many it has meant the ability to live a better life; The chance at one. We have it now generally, freedom I mean. We have it for various reasons which are usually because people who believed in it wholeheartedly went after it - Wars are only one example of this. Hate war? OK, that's your choice and I'm glad you made one...But the hundreds and thousands of slaves freed through war over the years may disagree, same as those who managed to become liberated from the Nazi death camps, by soldiers who fought their way from Normandy to those death camps.

Millions have been denied freedom over time, and here society is willingly shackling itself to the chains of consumerism - To stay plugged into the Matrix.

Freedom is hard-won, meaning it's not something that just happens. We have it, most of us, and yet we waste it also, which doesn't make a lot of sense. Society may not be bounded by razor-wire, mine-fields, walls, bars, chains and "ownership papers" but society still willingly gives up their freedom for material things. But not ksteem...He freedoms like a boss.

Good on you mate and I really hope the sonic works out.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default (and freedom like a boss)

Discord: @galenkp#9209 🇦🇺
@curangel curator

Sort:  

You don't have to set a good example; you can serve, instead, as a hideous warning to others :)

I rarely set good examples.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good freedoming bro!

:).

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Have people lost the ability for individual thought based on their own needs?

Not entirely but sometimes I got the feeling that even when you think you own your thoughts you can be wrong about it. There's tons of factors influencing us nowadays and especially our buying decisions and there are clever minds orchestrating that.

Regarding smartphones, glad you mentioned about the new fashion of getting the new model every year, I am proud of rocking the Samsung S7 for almost three years. It's the tenth generation yet and I'm still at seven. Proud of myself for not falling this summer for the S10 or the P30 pro. Followed the good old american saying: if it ain't broke don't fix it, or in my case if it ain't broke don't change it.

Have fun in your vacation!

Thanks mate. 4am wake up to get to the airport but I can't get grumpy when it's for the purpose of vacation! 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

Enjoy your time

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

"Freedom" and "individuality" are meaningless concepts, when used in pure abstraction. Freedom from what? Freedom to do what? Individuality in what context? These qualifiers are not ever considered by modern-day, anarchist rabble because "freedom" and "individuality" are mere filler words to designate the arbitrary whims of the thoughtless rabble. Those you decry as consumerists are exercising "freedom" from thought and responsibility. After all, modern day humanist "freedom" is nothing more than license to pursue their base desires. "Individuality" is mere sophistry for subverting any and all sociocultural standards and reference. The idiot muck that cue for the newest useless bauble, wasting their useless lives in virtual relationship and fantasy, are direct consequence of a society without standards or values, other than mob popularity and meaningless slogans.

Freedom, important and all that but what’s with the pic???

Posted using Partiko iOS

She looks pretty free to me...And I'm exercising my freedom to choose the images I would like to choose for my own blog.

Posted using Partiko Android

Upvoted by @truthforce for having similarities to the #informationwar tag, posts like this anyone can add the tag #informationwar so we can more easily find and upvote them!

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation, and Liberty. We are a peaceful and non-violent movement that sees information as being held back by corrupt forces in the private sector and government. Our Mission.
  • Discord, website, youtube channel links here.

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

Yikes, I've been called out lol! I did make another post on my testing results.
See it here

Thanks for the comments @galenkp. I have my Dad to thank for this way of thinking I suppose. Everyone has different perceptions, even when looking at the same tree or blade of grass. Being able to discuss our own thoughts, perceptions, and opinions in a healthy and respectful manner is one of the core building blocks of a good relationship and friendship. Wouldn't life become boring if we all thought, felt, and acted alike!

I enjoyed your comment on "sheeple". One of the problems I see in today's society is that I notice some people not only falling for the common sheeple thinking and neuro-linguistic programming pushed into their heads through the media hypnotism, but now also getting angry or even aggressive when other people don't fall into line with their hive mentality.

That is a dangerous path which leads to mob rule, lynchings, witch burnings, crusades, etc. I applaud anyone that not only thinks and behaves for themselves, but encourages others to do so as well.
Thank you my friend.

"And it harm none, do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the law".

Enjoy!
@ksteem

I applaud your decision, made on your needs and requirements...My post gave me a chance to say so, and to call out the sheeple.

I'll have a look at your post results soon. Just landed in Queenstown, NZ so getting settled in. 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

I totally agree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99