You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Data Phones Are Creepy

Yep.
I cover my front facing camera now on my phone. Don't have one on my computer, because it's a desktop and I don't wanna pay $100 for a shitty camera I'll barely ever use.
A few phones and laptops are now coming with hardware switches to turn the cameras off. But are they really hardware switches? Or are they actually just software switches?
Maybe the cameras should actually be little blocks that you take on and off. LEGO PHONE!

Sort:  

i switch my laptop cam off in software AND put a sticker over it, plus disable the microphone until needed. i have a dumb phone so no gps tracker or internet, and try to live life as much as possible as i did before, plus i also have the internet through a laptop. no smart tv, fridge, oven, toothbrush nor anything else. for 'smart' read 'spy.' peace.

oh, and i still use 'programs' - i don't know what an app is and would never agree to its terms and conditions that @teutonium mentioned - lunacy!

"Smart" devices are hilariously insecure.

One of the major advantages of a smart phone is that it's everything you would need in one device. If you want to be able to do stuff on the go, you kinda need a smart device. I think I'm gonna have to get a phone with a mic and camera switch, because the paranoia is real.

And my device does seem to go almost dead every night when it's supposed to be in sleep mode.

Maybe I need to get in the habit of turning on airplane mode at night too.

you mean like a camera or video camera? i have those. but i obviously only take them out if i think i'll need them. ah, inconvenience, the price of privacy.

do you use your smart phone as your alarm? can you use something else and leave your smart phone nowhere near you while you sleep? as it's a microwave device (though most people also have wi-fi, which also isn't good for health.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65143.22
ETH 3203.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88