You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Competing Philosophies: The Crisis in American Education

You're an inspiration Rich. I'm taking my year end tests today and needed some reafirmation for sure. It's tough on a homeschool kid, I wish I could explain that it's more of an elvaluation of me than him but that would add to the kids' pressure I think. The fact that my kids are learning real knowledge, and not being taught to oppose God, make everything worth it.

Sort:  

You're doing a lot better than you think. When my wife and I broke up, she put the kids back in school and every last one was #1 in their class. Trying to teach kids information like "What year was the Battle of Concord Bridge?" is Ok, but teaching them how to find out what they need to know, is something that will stay with them forever.

I never lectured, except a little in math. What I did was to give out reading assignments where the kids had to look something up, read it and then write a paper on it. Then we'd go over what they wrote correcting for grammar and spelling as we went. By the time my boys were 12-14 they were reading Plato and Aristotle. Just guide your son toward what you want him to learn and teach him how to think about it. I'm always here if you need me!

That's great to hear thanks. I wish I had come to social media right at the beginning, I was so against it for years I got left in the dust. I'm seeing the benefits of reaching out faster than I expected. I was holding out for this site I suppose ;)

This really is the only social media site worth going to... Once you wade through the scammers and spammers, most of the people here are pretty decent. It's set up more for content creators than cat memes lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23