Smart Home IOT - Who's Listening To You?

in #informationwar6 years ago (edited)


https://www.cbs.com/shows/person_of_interest/about/

Surveillance - Images/Videos

Have you ever watched Person of Interest? We got hooked on this TV series way back when we were slowly limiting our TV intake.

You are being watched...


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Person_of_Interest_%28TV_series%29

You can see evidence of this everywhere. From the cameras at every intersection, security cameras at every turn, your gadgets with cameras (dual at that!), then here comes the drones too!


https://unsplash.com/photos/nKg8IsVFMV8

Interconnected with almost everyone you see walking on their phones, no wonder the government can tap into each of our devices and make their surveillance program easier on them.

This article summarizes what those cameras on your laptop (probably phones now too) are taking snapshots of. Yes, images of your body parts without you knowing it.
https://www.zdnet.com/article/big-brother-really-is-watching-you/
https://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/feb/27/gchq-nsa-webcam-images-internet-yahoo

So please don't take your gadgets to the bathroom or to your bedroom. Tape the camera off, untape when you use it. Turn it off before you go to bed, put it in a metal box and bid it nighty night.

Surveillance - Audio

Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety - Benjamin Franklin

The rise of voice recognition. Sure you can name a lot of benefits for it. But there are risks for every benefit.

A TV or radio advertisement will sell you all the good points. With subliminal messages making you think you need it, you have to buy it. And all that excitement clouds the small voice...

What is the agenda?

Ahh the sweet sound of technology. It makes our lives easier, more convenient, more connected. Not to mention the internet of things is coming! How exciting! Thanks to Amazon, Apple, GE, LG, Samsung, Whirpool etc etc.

I agree there are benefits to IOT and again, risks...


Internet of things is coming
Isn't that exciting?
Oh no my fridge says I'm low
Alexa, I need eggs pronto!



Oh AI how amazing
Drive my truck no more speeding!
Siri where's the next Starbucks?
Grab my frap cool I'm in luck!



start playing Twilight Zone below...
Texting on my phone
Typing I'm on my way home
No answer minutes later, what??
Door's open, who did that??

Alexa laughing wickedly

dividerStop.png
To end, here's a quote from one of the telling articles I listed below. Did he realize that he gave Amazon consent to make the recordings with Echo to begin with?

In a starker example, detectives investigating a death at an Arkansas home sought access to audio on an Echo device in 2016. Amazon resisted, but the recordings were ultimately shared with the permission of the defendant, James Bates. (A judge later dismissed Mr. Bates’s first-degree murder charge based on separate evidence.)

Kathleen Zellner, his lawyer, said in an interview that the Echo had been recording more than it was supposed to. Mr. Bates told her that it had been regularly lighting up without being prompted, and had logged conversations that were unrelated to Alexa commands, including a conversation about football in a separate room, she said.

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/03/31/business/media/amazon-google-privacy-digital-assistants.html?action=click&module=Intentional&pgtype=Article

Alexa unlocking your front door
https://www.forbes.com/sites/aarontilley/2017/02/16/amazon-alexa-can-now-unlock-your-front-door/#7b4b738575f1

Hidden commands to Alexa and Siri
https://www.nytimes.com/2018/05/10/technology/alexa-siri-hidden-command-audio-attacks.html

Sort:  

Congratulations on a fantastic article! I constantly try to wake up everybody around me with the same kind of information, but rarely do my pleadings resonate. This needs to be shared with anyone who hasn't woken up to the surveillance madness. I love the fact that you have condensed it to a level that even the average 140-character-limited person will be able to comprehend its essence. You come up with lots of crucial information, and even a very creative little poem. To top it all off, you used one of my all-time favorite quotes from none other than Ben Franklin, and also included the opening to my favorite show of all time.

I call it serendipity that I published my first article mere moments after this one. Otherwise I might have never stumbled across it. Thank you kindly!

On a side note, I want to recommend to you the software DVasive from John McAfee in case you didn't know it already. It is my daily driver against phone invaders. I use it alongside a rooted LineageOS with microG (no more Google on my phone!) and the XPrivacy module (to completely block certain apps from accessing the internet).

Thank you! Someone new in Steemit who actually read the article! Hooray!

Wonderful comment so I gave a 100% upvote. I'm a ma'am though hahaha but you already edited it.

Really appreciate the side notes. I do need to take the time to make my Android phone un-Googled... So, maybe you need to make a post about how you did yours? I need it :)

And... welcome to Steemit.

It is an old habit I'm trying to shake that I subconsciously automatically assume that whenever I'm communicating on the web there's a guy at the other end, especially when it concerns technology. One brief look at your profile picture would have sufficed to avoid my error, but alas. I wasn't even quick enough to edit it out. I've rarely met a woman who is that aware of what's going on in the tech world. My sincere compliments for your astute observations.

Thanks for your warm welcome. Now that you mention it, I might come around writing an article or two about tech. Don't worry, it's not that hard to tear the Google-chains off your phone.

Thanks all! Appreciate the support, let the truth be told.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93