King of Kings

in #informationwar5 years ago

Courtesy of Christianity Today

These are the days when the Christian is expected to praise every creed except his own. – GK Chesterton

The Holy Spirit whispered “King of Kings” into my mind this morning.  I searched the phrase and found this thought that Paul wrote to his disciple, Timothy.

“For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil …. But you man of God, flee from all this … Fight the good fight of the faith …. I charge you to keep this command without spot or blame until the appearing of our Lord Jesus Christ, which God will bring about in his own time – God, the blessed and only Ruler, the King of kings and Lord of lords.”

My supreme governor is not Donald Trump.  My supreme leader is Jesus Christ.  He is my King.  He’s my King of kings and Lord of lords.

Many today are weak in their faith because of money.  Instead of assigning value to a thought, action or relationship based on what the King of kings teaches we decide on a value informed by the idea of money.  This is, indeed, a “root of all kinds of evil.”

The truism is accurate, “The best things in life are free.”  This doesn’t mean that a “best thing” won’t cost money.  It means that the value of the thing is REALLY independent of the cost in money.

I will love my wife and family even if it costs me all my money.  Why?  Because love is WORTH it.  God wired the universe to make this kind of Love worth everything … even life itself.

The slaughter of innocent babies injects cognitive dissonance into our society.  We all know that we should surrender our life to preserve that of our neighbor.  Legalized baby slaughter violates this eternal truth.

Love God today.  Give everything for Him.

Command those who are rich in this present world not to be arrogant nor to put their hope in wealth, which is so uncertain, but to put their hope in God, who richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment. – 1 Timothy 6:17

Sort:  

Excellent! Resteeming....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61979.42
ETH 2916.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63