You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Pursuit of Happiness and other control mechanisms

Thank you for this post (and this comments in this group are super intelligent! I am now following all y'all smarties.) I couldn't agree more and feel that happiness is derived from reaching one's potential. That is an internal to external process. I do not think it can work from external to internal (though sometimes tragedy does induce change.)

We live in a world of 'things' and I am no different. For the past year I have been trying to sincerely analyze me relationship with 'things' and reactions (some call it jealousy) of others who have more than I.

Compersion is a word I came across recently that was defined as the " The feeling of joy one has experiencing another's joy, such as in witnessing a toddler's joy and feeling joy in response. The feeling of joy associated with seeing a loved one love another; contrasted with jealousy."

This is something I am trying to work harder on and to just keep focused on doing what I can do to be the best version of me. What I do notice is that a natural outcome is a desire for others to fulfill their potential as well, and for me to get out of their way on their path to that.

The beauty in all this is that we have a lifetime to figure it out. Some of us do not get that opportunity or moment of clarity, but its pursuit is what gets me out of bed everyday.

Thanks everyone. Love.

Sort:  

(and this comments in this group are super intelligent! I am now following all y'all smarties.)

I count myself lucky to have the followers I have.

Compersion is a word I came across recently that was defined as the " The feeling of joy one has experiencing another's joy, such as in witnessing a toddler's joy and feeling joy in response. The feeling of joy associated with seeing a loved one love another; contrasted with jealousy."

I have not come across the word before but the concept yes. Imagine a world where this was felt every day.

Thanks for coming by and adding your voice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86