Preparedness and "Prepper-phobia"

in #informationwar6 years ago

Why is it that if you own a plate carrier and a GTW/SHTF kit, you are the crazy one?


I was talking with some buddies about airsoft. We all play and I was figuring that since I am swapping from a Korean War era kit to a more modern one, I would use this as a chance to get some really top-shelf tactical gear and get comfortable with it. Obviously this is no proper training, but getting used to the weights of plates and the kitted carrier, as well as finding the proper clothing would be invaluable. They looked at me like I was crazy.

Why would you need that stuff?
Do you think the world is gonna end?

I was so shocked by their replies, but looking at how people are encouraged to mock those who are taking efforts to be prepared for any catastrophe (think the Doomsday Preppers show) I can understand why. I do think that there is a concerted effort by some to make it seem as though everything is cool and stable when it really isn't the case. If you were in Luisianna during Katrina, would you have preferred to have supplies as a way to defend it? What about during the riots in LA, Ferguson, or Baltimore? These may be peace, but it isn't stable and to pretend that the balance will always be maintained is a dangerous belief. I do not know why people think that way, but I think the idea is most prevalent amongst those who look to the government first as a way to fix their problems. Sometimes you need to act for yourself, and having supplies which can keep you safe during storms, prolonged power outages/resource shortages, or civil unrest, and the means to defend those supplies, is the safest way to protect yourself and those dear.

bottom.png
-@roofcore

Sort:  

I'm old, so I remember the days when people thought it was wise to be prepared, even if disaster never strikes. After all, you only need things to go wrong once, not even on a country-wide level, and it could make the difference of you and your family surviving or not.

Those are not odds I would like to bet against - I just wish I had a way to protect myself and my loved ones, but the problem where I live is more drastic.

As they say, he who laughs last, laughs the best.

exactly true man. Being generally prepared for ad things seems very reasonable. While not incredibly likely, the possible consequences are massive and avoidable, so why not?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45