You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How fast does the corruption come? If we could stop it... we would solve world problems.

Who polices the policemen?

decentralized law generation + centralized law system (police/courts) + decentralized accountability of the law system?

spitballing here.

@everittdmickey ..was indicating that until we remove flags and make bots impossible steem is doomed to fail.

Those things accelerate the problems we have...as far as bots? probably an insurmountable tech problem, but ignorant use of the flag is probably the second worst thing we have here.

I'd also add voting cliques (even tho I'm part of one ;>)...

BUT the worst thing we have going on here is the timing reward for payouts. there is absolutely no reason for steemers to look for content outside of the higher payout ratios

In any case, this is digressing from the main point, which is that power corrupts.

My solution would be a culture that socializes against this tendency...
the problem is that you have to have power in order to control the socialization process...oops ;>

Sort:  

An easy way that I use to toss aside ideas of what may work is this...

Can I think of a way to exploit it or get advantage?

If I can think of a way, then so can others, and that also means they likely will think of things I did not.

Simply because I think something is immoral or unethical to do is no stop gap to stop other humans from doing it.

The only mind I can truly read, hear, and somewhat control is my own. :)

I have been thinking in terms of "tribalism" rather than "rule of law" lately. Rule of law seems to be easily corrupted.

It seems that the flaws of tribalism (it's inflexible nature, for one) may be outweighed by the flaws in rule of law, especially in allowing technicalities.

At the end of the day though, in ANY system, it's up to the individual to understand what is right and wrong, and to have the strength to carry on with that. That is a cultural trait, or at least cultures can reinforce the trait.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65