You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EPIC! How to totally get completely off the surveillance grid, pretty much

I did almost all of these things. I guess the expensive ones that cost most of that $30k are the ones I didn't undertake, as it cost me nothing at all, and actually saves on expenses. I paid in cash in full for my home and no deed is recorded in any way. I also don't have any kind of bank account at all. Some other things I do are to make deals with neighbors, such as for various services that I can pay them directly in cash for, such as electric power, water, internet and etc...

If you focus on people, specifically being good to people in and around your location, it's pretty amazing how willing they are to be good right back, particularly when doing those good deeds comes with cashback, just like a Discover card =)

Sort:  

Who wants their neighbors all up in their business. I'd say people stand a better chance having a dispute with a neighbor then a government entity, how often do you really interact with the government versus your neighbors.

I would like to specify that interactions with 'government' are always interactions with people employed by government. Around here, many of those folks are neighbors (I live in quite a small village). When you live in a village it's pretty much guaranteed that everyone is gonna know what's up with their neighbors.

Developing a good relationship with neighbors isn't only a good idea just to help keep the peace on good days. In the event that bad things happen - and they do from time to time - being someone all your neighbors are willing to check on might save your life. Having good working relationships with both neighbors and government also helps to limit the negative potential of disputes.

Besides, I like my neighbors. They're mostly pretty good, down to Earth folks. None of them, nor I, are free of foibles and flaws. Being on good terms helps keep those from being problems between us too.

I guess that may work in a small environment but for cities they have become to transient of a population.

I paid in cash in full for my home and no deed is recorded in any way

Then how can you prove you own it and pay taxes on it?

Do you at least have some prepaid cards? Credit cards make some things much easier.

Why do I need to prove anything to anyone regarding property ownership? The question does not come up. I do not pay taxes on it. None are assessed. I can use prepaid cards, but didn't last year, and rarely have need.

i haven't seen any plots of land or houses assessed at zero for tax purposes.

And I shall remain pseudonymous. I apologize for being so cryptic, but I have paid dearly for being too blatant in the past, and see no need to invite such challenges once again. I will point out that there are other definitions of home, house, property, and the like than are in common use, and also that various zoning and business regulations sometimes provide not only abatements of tax, but subsidies. I am vague not only to remain cryptic, but because there are many mechanisms that thoughtful people can use in their particular circumstances and jurisdictions to achieve similar, and even better, circumstances than have I.

I am convinced that careful consideration of local jurisdictions, thoughtful seeking of anomalous outlying conditions, and particularly creating good relationships with relevant parties can illimitably improve the circumstances of everyone that undertakes to do so. It is not often easy to surmount the ideologies and basic beliefs we assume natively, and it is through the existential peril I have come that has driven me to do so, and enabled me to grasp apparently novel solutions to intractable forces.

I hope that by sharing the potential of such solutions without specifics other good people might be able to challenge their paradigms and escape the boxes they have been confined in.

absolutely, it all depends on what your goal is, anything is possible and I respect what you are trying to do.

Utility companies are selling your identity and details to third parties. The way around this is to buy a property using a trust. Then the trust gets the utilities, not you. When you have utilities and tax bills in your name, you gave up everything.

Paying cash for items definitely helps, but things like utilities and property taxes are put into databases that the government and, in some cases, PI's can search.

I see utilities as a real weakness though. It is one reason why I want to be completely off grid one day. That's also why a lot of places make it illegal to be completely off grid. Your driver's license will also be used against you, and they make finding a person very easy for law enforcement.

As I noted earlier, I do not have any utility bills. Were neighbors unavailable to do so in my stead, a trust or LLC might well prove the best solution. I have neither tax bills nor utility bills coming to me. I renewed my driver's license while living innawoods, and the address on it is a creek drainage. I do completely agree that simply providing one's own utilities is the ultimate best option. I have long used a solar panel for auxiliary power, and used to have a rain barrel that collected water from my gutters. That proved difficult, so I have arranged for a different solution for water.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86