In the Garden of the Black Earth Lady...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #informationwar5 years ago (edited)

So I was writing in response to @metametheus's recent post, Chronic Illness, The Heros Journey, Part I, and yet again I've managed to tie it into another great post, Mind the SJW Trap, by no less than @zyx066.

So now ofcourse, I'm going to have to merge the two...

The Hero's Journey

I related talking with my roommate Zombie about this back in '96... We were both new to witchery and had studied mythology extensively in our lives. The thing is, ofcourse, that the Hero's Journey is of a cyclical nature, and happens again and again and again, granted you don't die somewhere along the way. I've been through it... Sheesh.. this must be the third time... Granted, this time around, the lessons have been coming rapid-fire...

One terrible thing that might have been overlooked, is that you will have a GREAT DEAL of assistance in ignoring The Call (to step upon the Golden Road of the Hero's Journey).. There are entire industries, philosophies, even paradigms absolutely insistent on keeping you stagnant so they can profit from your misery. This isn't even counting the everyday assholes who try and convince you to stay in a box of their choosing. The tactics are always the same; Deny, Distract, Decry... with a mountain of shaming.

Luckily, in these days of mass personal-communication, the game has changed somewhat. Before, it was all on the gods and tricksters to try and get this through your head, because there was no proper community, as such. Inventions certainly helped, the printing-press, radio, television, and finally message boards.

Ofcourse the powers that be are quick to adapt, but the sheer deluge of community-building is pushing even -their- limits. They are doubling down on old-school tactics, rebranding the same old methods, targeting (and destroying) upfront threats... And they are good at it.. really, really good. Trust me, they see both the forest AND the trees...

forest.jpg

But were they looking for this?

The link in question goes to an article about how megaflora, such as trees, utilize a symbiotic relationships with fungi to share information, feed each other, and -literally- perform CPR (of an arboreal sort) on each other.

So how does this touch on Information War?

Because, while @metametheus was speaking more from a pharmacological/dietary point of view, the concept of the Hero's Journey is excruciatingly relevant in the branch of Cultural Management / Information Warfare, which is what I was getting at. While I myself first came upon the concept during my early days of witchery and bargaining with certain parties, I immediately found it applicable in the Industrial culture of the 90's. I had long known of the malfeasance of corporate and governmental parties, but I never imagined precisely how many infections our culture is carrier to.

Lately, I've come to understand this more, and well.. I've been on a Hero's Journey of an entirely different sort this winter. There was a certain paradigm sold to me, without question due to good intentions, that has served me very ill for many decades. Perhaps, in one sense, this stunning naivety on my part protected me... but still.. it is most horrid to find that while you -thought- you were marching to the tune of a "different drummer"... that tune itself was most unhealthy...

I'm coming out of the Underworld again, and gods only know how long I will have before I hear the call again...

But make no mistake... If you weren't worth calling, They wouldn't bother.

tribesteemup.png

Sort:  

Honestly, I feel the answer lies in biomimicry.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well you will need a whole new post to respond.

Posted using Partiko Android

😆 yet another one....???...

Anything I write concerning Taoist ideas is pretty much along these lines. How come? Because they were the ones who really first put together the concept... sort of.

The keystone to Taoist philosophy is the idea of observing Heaven & Earth as models.

Observe how nature operates and emulate in human behaviour, inter-human relationships, and human societies. It’s a very early form of systems-thinking. It’s why I’m very fascinated with what happens with Holo, because they are explicitly using natural models to build their Holochain. Exciting stuff.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Look fwd to read more about your favourite trees and their natural medicine. :)

Also I have no idea how to center my images.. HALP!

I keep trying to give the code, but when I post it, it centre’s my text 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Use <-center-> before and the image code <-/center-> after it. Take the - out from what’s between the <> brackets.

Thank you, sir. :)

If you use the thingie below on either side of the text

`

You end up with <center>

@metametheus @yestermorrow

And yes, life can be and endless cycling of heroes journeys. Makes it interesting!!

And if you take off the brackets on either end of the gif code then you won't have the brackets appear on your post. Xx

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @yestermorrow! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 22000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99