INFORWARS BANNED ?!

in #infowars6 years ago

So infowars has been pulled off all the social networking sites and I worry about the future of free speech. I love watching a bit of info wars, I haven't watched Alex Jones but I often watch Lauren and Owen go out and interview people on the street and question the protestors, who half the time don't really know why they are even protesting other than cause they read about something in the news or their friends said something was bad. Of course there are people that sometimes can articulate great arguments back and then thats even more interesting to watch.

I am all about allowing everyone their opinion and we either watch it, learn from it, agree or disagree or we don't watch. I don't believe any sole person should have the right to silence an entire channel because it doesn't fit in with their personal opinion. If youtube do truly believe that infowars are using hate speech then why is the Antifa group and the 'Kill Donald Trump' page and many more far more hateful groups still active? So what if they believe in conspiracy theories, this is social media and always has been, it's the whole reason youtube even became popular in the first place because it was a home for people to talk about things that were not accepted by main stream media and now youtube is trying to clear the platform of what made it in the first place!

This is the strength of steemit and for me the real benefit of decentralisation. Now is the time to offer a place where we can share our opinions without one person making a decision on what is or isn't 'acceptable' content based on their own beliefs. This could be the time we see the biggest move to steemit and dtube yet.

This guy so eloquently says everything I feel far better than I can.

What are your opinions on the whole info wars ban?

Sort:  

I love watching a bit of info wars

Yes I can believe that :)

YouTube, Facebook and Apple are private companies and have the absolute right to remove whatever they want. It's up to people to use decentralised platforms if they don't want to be censored.

By the way, the've been censoring left-wing anarchist groups for a long time now. Info Wars and the likes of Alex Jones (while having a right to 'free speech') have been defaming people (including minors) and causing law suits. These private companies have had enough of him. I'm shocked it took this long.

Alex Jones should come to DTube/Steemit, or build his own platform. Why has he not built his own platform all this time? Especially when he "knew the illuminati were coming to get him and throw him off the Internet?". SMH

Yeah I was really thinking this could be the rise of d tube and steemit. YouTube got started because of people wanting a voice to talk about conspiracy theories, spiritual awakening etc etc now they are silencing the people who actually made them rich!

What’s scary to me is one person basically censoring what we should or shouldn’t watch. It really drives home how much power these social network channels have!

I mostly have only watched the street interviews with Lauren and Owen where they interview clueless demonstrators and I think they are really important videos for us to see how we can get swept up in mass hysteria so easily without even having questioned things for themselves. It shocks me they can remove info wars for hate speech yet leave up groups like antifa and kill Donald trump! And other far more extreme hate groups it’s an obvious political statement. I don’t have a particular politcal bias but I do support free speech!

Good info 👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87