Infrared Photography - Landscapes in the suburbssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #infrared5 years ago

Roving through suburbia, there are park areas I like to check out. They have structures, large trees and grassy fields that make for good photography. The houses in the background add to the photos along with streets surrounding the area.

ry-xI4ytfV.jpg

Camera ModelLumix GH3, modified by LifePixel for Full Spectrum
LensOlympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 12mm-50mm
Filter850nm Infrared Passthrough filter
Aperturef/3.5
Shutter Speed1/200 sec
Film Speed200
SpectrumInfrared (IR)
Wavelength850 nanometers
LocationNorth Georgia USA

BJgxIVyYGN.jpg

A shaped bush leading to the entry of someones home, well trimmed and in good health.

HkMlLV1YGN.jpg

Some Magnolia trees, a classic Southern choice for foliage.

rJXeUEytfV.jpg

A few trees that have lost most of their leaves for the year, due to winter approaching at the time of taking these photos.

S14eU4yKzE.jpg

An open field, good for dogs to play on and if you want run its great for that too from the looks of it. Surrounded by young trees, this area was only built in the last ten years.

S14eU4yKzE.jpg

A few trees formed a canopy, and I got a photo slightly looking up to see the sunlight filtering through the leaves.


I take pictures with a special Panasonic Lumix Camera. Its a Mirrorless DSLR camera that has been modified by LifePixel to see in other wavelengths. This allows my camera to capture light in the Infrared around 1300 nanometers wavelength, through the visual spectrum and into the Ultraviolet A and B wavelengths roughly into the 300 nanometers wavelength.

I carry dozens of filters on me to make the photos you see in my blog, these filters screw on my lens and help me isolate certain wavelengths for certain scenes. These filters can be IR / UV cut filters to help me get a natural photo taking out the Ultraviolet and Infrared light. Or I may use a Infrared pass-through filter capture just Infrared light. I can do the same with Ultraviolet light as well, though I need some better filters which they can cost a few hundred dollars for true Ultraviolet pass through filters. So for right now I have B+W 403 filters that still allow some IR light in, due to their cheaper material.

For more details on how I do my photography I have a video on that: https://steemit.com/photography/@solominer/vqgcrs3x

Rockin Steemians

#fridaysrock by @nat-expressions

#rockhound & @rockhounds by @bitfiend

#shadowphoto by @melinda010100

#mineralmondays by @rt395

#bouldersunday by @shasta

#GTWCA (Crypto Price Analysis) by @gandalfthewhite

PlatformURL/Username
Steemithttps://steemit.com/@solominer
D.Tube
Wekuhttps://deals.weku.io/@solominer
Bit.Tubehttps://bit.tube/solominer
MithrilSolominer
Bitcointalkhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=83228
CryptoPanichttps://cryptopanic.com/solominer
Whaleshareshttps://whaleshares.io/@solominer
Bearshareshttps://bearshares.com/@solominer/
Sort:  

These are all quite beautiful. Interesting details about the equipment you are using. I must admit, I thought you were editing them using software.

@melinda010100 thank you, and glad you learned that. It's all captured by my camera and I just resize it and sometimes adjust the white balance if needed. But besides that it's my special camera doing the work. I've color swapped some photos but I state it when I do so.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have an older Panasonic Lumix, that I haven't taken the time to figure out the setting on. My Canon Powershot is more familiar, so I always grab that one. I need to get out the Lumix and play around with it.

@melinda010100

If its a supported camera by Life Pixel they can convert it to Infrared, Full Spectrum or one of many more options. It takes a about a month to get it back.

Though Id suggest trying out screw on filters with a tripod first to see if you like it.

At this point what I really don't like about it is that it's not WIFI. I don't use a computer any longer both the devices I use are either my phone or my Chromebook and there is no way to get the photos from the camera to either of those devices. It's inconvenient to dig out an old laptop just to download the pictures.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations @solominer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.797 which ranks you at #12603 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 12600).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 217 contributions, your post is ranked at #76.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99