Der böse Friederich

in #inktober6 years ago (edited)

I am very much behind with everything - both Phill from GCHQ and my Inktober. I am reasonably content that I waited with the Phill-page. It is being reworked and improved. But I better get something done about the missing Inktober drawings.

"Cruel" is the word of day 11, and as I the other day discussed Struwwelpeter with @thermoplastic I thought about Bösen Friederich from the same book. You can see the page below.

I did think of other cruel things, but they were too cruel, so I went with this moderate idea.


Der böse Friederich


Die Geschichte vom bösen Friederich

Sort:  

I also thought about the various #cruel Struwwelpeter stories when I was trying to visualize this topic. In my childhood we had a boy in our neighborhood who uses a magnifier to burn living ants and salt to kill snails. Later I heard, that he killed himself... I still wonder, what his parents did to him to make him such a cruel young boy.

P.S.: It's "Der böse Friederich" but "Die Geschichte vom bösen Friederich" (dative case)

Such things are almost impossible to understand - we can't even understand ourself.

Thanks for the German advice :) I'll fix it.

A perfect representation - the image makes me cringe in anticipation of the wings coming off. You are a drawing genius!

You are too kind. Thank you!

Wow he looks very cruel and bad. It is not a pleasant art to look at for me but it also shows that you're pretty good at illustrating what you want to draw.

I LOVED struwwellpieter! I read and read the english version we had as a child. My favourite was 'fidgety phillip' of which my mother always reminded me when I was at table!

I'd say my witch might be up to a bit more cruelty than fly wing removal, but I suppose it is all a matter of context :)

I think she is too. Just going into commenting mode after a busy day, but I have seen your witches and they are gorgeous!

As for Struwwelpeter, or The Great Bastian as the book was called in Danish, I think I somehow was equally entertained and alienated.

Awesome artwork.. that was me as a kid.. I was a horror once just like him.

I hope you didn't whip a girl called Gretchen! My kid brother and some friends experimented with the fly torture and realised that a large part of the fast dodging the fly do when avoiding the flyswatter, is due to its leg. It jumps sideways, then flies. Today he is a postdoctoral researcher.

You nailed it, that kid is the embodiment of cruel.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

this definitely captured the prompt very well, it is a great drawing of "CRUEL"!!! the defenselessness of the little fly is drawn well and the cruelty of the child's face, also <3 wonderful picture !!!

Wow, such tension. You can literally hear the poor things wings popping X_X

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10