Fatigue

in #inktober6 years ago (edited)

Another inktober drawing - this time made to the word exhausted. I am quite satisfied with the drawing I have posted it on my Diaspora profile in high resolution as Creative Commons -by.

You can find it here: Exhausted


Exhausted

This work is licensed under a

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Attribute - Katharsisdrill - Site: https://www.datataffel.dk/u/katharsisdrill

Sort:  

Wow cool drawing and style!

That pretty much captures how I feel sometimes. That cyclops is looking rather smug though.

Cyclops are rather smug!

I love this and boy do I feel the 'exhausted' prompt.

I think I need that cyclop painting in my life!

You have such a Crumb/woodcut combo to your style that I just love, it has a depth and a roundness to it. I'm not doing it justice in this bad description, but suffice it to say, it makes me happy :) And that's what I love art to do to me.

Thanks, that is very kind of you. I have been drawing in so many ways and styles in my life. This is kind of me returning to , and re-exploring part of my teenage dreams. I wanted to become a comic artist and ended up in fine art, now I am back again :)

Ah, that melt into the chair feeling.

Atomic war outside, must be tiring.

The tiring part is that Trump is so slow. We were promised that terrible things would happen! All we got was Married with Children the White House version.

A.I. is the answer, robots never get exhausted.

Never forget, they have one major weakness:

#shortcircuit

or @shortcut'lery

That's one long arm, I wish I had your imagination. Envious.

Haha, the Obama one almost looked real until I scrolled down and saw the others.

Hey, @katharsisdrill.

You've captured exhaustion. The long limbs are a great touch. As someone else said, there's a definite 60s/70s alt comics vibe to it. It reminded me of Mad Magazine.

Would you say that's your preferred style, the one you naturally gravitate to?

I have worked in many styles and never really settled for one. I tend to change my style a lot.

But that said I have been working in this style for some time as i am making a comic. You can see the new pages publiched here onm Steemit and the whole thing here Phill from GCHQ

It was indeed inspired by Gilbert Shelton, who made the Freak Brothers, and Robert Crumb, so no wonder it has a Mad Magazine vibe.

P.S. when I saw your name I thought you might be a Scandinavian like me, but I see now that you are from the US. Probably you have a Scandinavian back there in your family.

Okay. I definitely see the Crumb influence. Not that familiar with Shelton.

Well, it's good to have different styles, I think, since potentially that leads to greater creativity, and hopefully, more opportunity.

That's quite the epic tale you've got going with Phil. :) I like how the pages load, too. Large and easy to read.

My father's family is originally from Denmark, so yes, I am. Three brothers came to America right around WWI. Their last name was originally Albrechtsen, but supposedly, they felt that sounded to German, and not wanting to be associated with Germany at the time, they purposefully changed it to Albrethsen, making it not only harder to spell for people, but harder to pronounce. If I remember right, it was my great great grandfather who came over.

There's not many of us here. If you ever come across an Albrethsen in the states, they are most likely related to me somehow. I know I have family, mainly in the West, but another brother's line is still back East, in at least Pennsylvania. As far as I know, there's not much interaction between the bloodlines. At least, I'm not in that particular loop. :)

So, which Scandinavian country are you from?

I actually read your name as Albrechtsen, it is quite common here in Denmark (where I am from) so I just assumed with my lazy eyes. Facinating how the migrant stories are so common in North America.

My wife and I had a lot to do with a relative from a part of my family that went to Canada in the last decade of the 19th century. She came to finish her education as a nurse in Denmark - to see the motherland and all! She found a British scientist and married him here in Copenhagen, but then she went back to Canada with him in a string :)

Okay. Well cool. The Copenhagen area is where our family originates, so there you go!

What's funny is, I was looking through a book of census records for the Copenhagen area and actually came across some families named Albrethsen. Our family had always held that the name was Americanized by the brothers, but it may very well be that they new these other people and changed it to that. I'd heard of Albrecht as a first name, but never Albreth. I wonder how that came about?

re: back to Canada

Sounds like true love to me. :)

I looked it up and found this: https://www.nordicnames.de/wiki/Albreth

An alternative spelling of Albrekt or Albrecht...

And it was love indeed :)

Great drawing! I think that I would interpret it as 'desperate' if you didn't say it was 'exhausted'. Please don't get me wrong. I really like it, but it makes me think of me when I'm desperate :D

Funny thing is that exhausted and desperate is often synonymous for me. As long as I can act I normally just do that, but as soon as exhaustion sets in, desperation follows.

Actually, you are right. I didn't think about it like this but now when you say it, it does make sense..

I relate to this on a spiritual level.

Inktober is a hard month.

I love this :D So apt ! Looks just like how the word feels like ! Amazing capture of the feeling of FATIGUE, @katharsisdrill !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82