INKTOBER 2017 - TWO WEEKS LATER

in #inktober7 years ago (edited)

It's been two weeks since Inktober began, you can check out the first week's roundup of my drawings here!


I've really enjoyed doing Inktober so far, I definitely don't draw as much as I used to as a child and so being able to do this, while having a prompt word to guide me is great. It's really helped boost my creativity (although sadly I'm still as susceptible to procrastination as ever).

I'd definitely recommend joining in, even though we're already 2 weeks in!

In case you don't know what Inktober is, here's a quick summary:

Inktober was started in 2009 by Jake Parker in an attempt to improve his skills with ink as well as promoting positive drawing habits. Every year since then throughout the month of October, thousands of artists all over the world take part!

How do you take part?

Every year an official prompt list is released by Jake Parker. All you need to do is do a drawing in ink (although sketching it out in pencil first is allowed), post it online and use the hashtags!

Here's this year's list!


Source: Jake Parker

Day 8, 'Crooked', at first I was going to draw some teeth or villain, however my drawing skills weren't up to par with what was going on in my head so I settle for this instead! I really liked that I was able to include all the information in one of the art pieces on the girl's wall. I do feel like the crooked picture frame could have been a bit more obvious though!

Day 9, 'Screech', I'm pretty sure we've all been here, more times than we'd like to admit. Here I started making the decision to use this girl as a kind of common theme whenever I included a girl in the rest of my drawings (as you can see later on and in last week's post).

Day 10, 'Gigantic', Bioshock is one of my favourite video game franchises so how could I resist?! I didn't realise how difficult drawing a Big Daddy would be (and Little Sister) from the side, however I think I kind of managed it. One of my dreams is to cosplay a Little Sister, because sadly I admit... I'm short enough to pull it off!

Day 11, 'Run', I went for a more "abstract" (ew that sounds pretentious sorry) interpretation for today's prompt word. I wanted to draw a hand pressing the alarm but hands are SO difficult to draw! I think that this worked out pretty well though with the time being replaced by what's actually happening.

Day 12, 'Shattered', this is me, every single day after college. That is all.

Day 13, 'Teeming', today's prompt word was a little difficult, all I could think of was either teeming with ants or teeming with joy. I went with the more obvious choice just to save myself a bit of a headache. Although I did add a cute little flower to jazz it up a little.

Day 14, 'Fierce', this is the most fierce lady I could think of! I remember I always used to get a little scared of Cooking Mama went she went into rage mode after I'd mess up, but some of the recipes were so hard!

Phew, that's all for this week! I'm posting this a little late so I've already started the third week of drawings. It's getting a little harder to think of ideas but I can't wait to see where we end up next!


Thanks so much for taking the time to read my post (and view my 'pieces').
Are any of you doing Inktober? Please let me know in the comments below!

Don't forget to upvote, comment, follow and resteem if you liked what you see!

Sort:  

You are not just good. You are also a witty artist.

Awh thank you, that's so sweet! ^_^

Congratulations @mivstar, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 957 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $556.49. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Interesting! Someone introduced me to this Inktober but I still don't quite get the idea, this is not a contest right?

No it's not a contest. Rather just a way of testing out your creativity, developing drawing habits and sharing your art with others (and vice versa)!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63138.90
ETH 3290.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89