Guarded -Inktober

in #inktober6 years ago

guardedTH.jpg

My 13th drawing for Inktober

For my thirteenth drawing I went with the Inktober prompt suggestion of Guarded. In this piece a large fence stands guard over an abandoned building, with a friendly greeting of 'Keep Out' attached.

guardedsign.jpg

inksplat.png

I have decided to get out my ink pens and join in with Inktober, you can find more details about Inktober on the website: https://inktober.com/.

2018promptlistSML.jpg
Source: https://inktober.com/rules/

3inkmarks.png

Creating my drawing

The piece was created using black drawing ink, a dip pen, paintbrush, masking tape, letter stamps and wax.

inktools.jpg

To begin, areas of the paper were masked off before layers of ink were applied. Letter stamps were used to add the lettering, which was then finished by hand using a fine paintbrush.
guardedstg.jpg

After the base layers of ink and lettering were applied I coated the areas I wanted to keep unaltered with wax, before applying more ink to the paper. I then washed off any excess ink and allowed the drawing to dry. The final stage was to use a dip pen and drawing ink to draw in finer details and outlines.
3inkmarks.png

'Guarded'

guardedM.jpg

Ink on paper

6inkmarks.png

pagefooterL.png

If you want to see some of my previous ink illustrations check out DWELLING, an illustrated crime novel collaboration between myself and fellow Steemian @dougkarr, set in New York’s Lower East Side. Dwelling is now available in print and ePub.
Image uploaded from iOS.jpg
Dwelling available on Amazon

Redbubble shop

Sort:  

I really like the vision you have when representing the slogan of the day, I admire the way you make them dear friend @opheliafu
many garcias for letting us know this beautiful work
I wish you a beautiful nights

Thank you- i found this one a little harder than the others to visualize at first.

Great use of negative space. I see that a lot in my area, white picket fences and private, no trespassing signs. New England is an area of fences and keep out signs sometimes :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97