Thunder Skies -Inktober

in #inktober6 years ago

thunderTH.jpg

My 27th drawing for Inktober

The Inktober prompt suggestion for the 27th is Thunder. I think this has been the trickiest of all the prompts so far, how was I going to represent a sound caused by lightning?
Because sound travels slower than light you will see a flash of lightning before you will hear the rumble of the thunder it has created, if it seems almost simultaneous then the lightning strike is very near.

inksplat.png

2018promptlistSML.jpg
Source: https://inktober.com/rules/

I have decided to get out my ink pens and brushes, and join in with Inktober, you can find more details about Inktober on the website: https://inktober.com/.

messydeskSML.png

Creating the drawing

To create the shape of the buildings I coated rectangular pieces of board in ink and then printed these on to the paper.

thundermake.jpg

I then used a Indian ink to create the shape of the black cloud, then while that layer was still wet I applied black acrylic ink along the center of the cloud.
3inkmarks.png

'Thunder Skies'

thunderML.jpg

Ink on paper

6inkmarks.png

pagefooterL.png

If you want to see some of my previous ink illustrations check out DWELLING, an illustrated crime novel collaboration between myself and fellow Steemian @dougkarr, set in New York’s Lower East Side. Dwelling is now available in print and ePub.

Image uploaded from iOS.jpg

Dwelling available on Amazon

Redbubble shop

Sort:  

This makes me miss printmaking. I love how you combine the different process for your inktobers, really taking them to new heights.

My travel companions are hopefully going out auto shopping today, so me and Ivan the dog can try and ink a new piece...hopefully.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62780.02
ETH 2945.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62